November 14, 2002 12:45 am

Employment, Sweet Employment

Well, a lot has gone on since I had the time to write last. I got the job. Life is good. They didn't string me along at a part-timer's wage. The salary is great, the benefits are great, the potential for bigger bucks is great. There are built in bonuses and raises. I am thrilled. And it is exactly the job I wanted. No responsibility (or none that scares me at least). I did go to the boss last Monday and said, "Put me out of my misery, I am dying of anxiety." At that point he told me I was his pick and he just had to clear a couple more hurdles. The next day it was more official and the sales manager and the general manager were congratulating me in low tones since it hadn't been announced yet. And finally, one week ago today, it became official.

I am glad I asked for the job I wanted because that is what he gave me. I do the music and I have my show. He hired another guy to do another job at the station and he will be the one responsible for scheduling and worrying about things other than music. As busy as I have been this week, I don't think I could have handled the whole job. I have been at work until 10 or 11 each night working on the music and getting things the way they should be.

I am going to go to bed because I worked 11 hours today and am totally drained. I am incredibly happy with how things have turned out. I am going to try to remain aloof and uncaring (sure I am), because I know jobs are never static in this business (two members of the number one morning show were let go yesterday, for instance), but, then again, I want to enjoy this job while I have it and learn all I can from it. It is especially satisfying to have such a great relationship with the boss. A day or so after he told me I had the job, I thanked him for relieving my anxiety and worry. He told me to NEVER let it get to that again, to call him at home or do whatever I had to do to talk to him because he would do all he could to explain or alleviate my worries. That is a great boss. Please, God, don't let him have a heart attack again.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland