2000-11-13 Midnight

Freeze alert

A freeze heading this way, the weathermen all warn. Last winter we had exactly one freeze and that was in January or February. I don't really think it will freeze tonight but that is one of those risks you don't really take. I hauled in all the house plants, huge dieffenbachias, cacti and assorted succulents. I had intended for days to do the right thing and trim plants and clean up their muddy pots and then find homes for them in the house. Tonight when it is 40 degrees I'm rushing in and out and flopping dirty muddy pots and scarred leaves onto any available floor space in the kitchen.

I was back at the book festival yesterday. No protestors. Mark went with me and went through a few of the tents. Then we sat and enjoyed Johnny Gimble and Floyd Domino. Mark left to rehearse and friend Grace soon showed up without husband and sweet baby. I missed seeing them but it was a luxury to have her all to myself for a while. Just after her arrival, the cold front hit with a vengeance. The tent shook, the rain came down, the wind blew and the temperature dropped faster than the stock market when there is the threat of a Democrat in the White House. We ran into tents and looked at books and then eventually ended up at a new pub called B.D. Riley's on Sixth. It was a nice getaway because there was no crowd and no reason to hurry. It was great to talk and catch up on each other's lives.

Tonight I am dragging. I need to clean house. Oldest best friend B! could be here tomorrow. She will probably most assuredly be in Austin but whether she'll get to my house tomorrow remains to be seen. She has lots of friends, a sister and a brother here. I haven't seen her in two and a half years, although that doesn't seem possible. She's been in Hawaii, living and working, and we visited her there soon after her move. Now she's been hopping all over the world and has found a job in Idaho Falls, Idaho, that will start after the first of the year. From Maui to Idaho. She'd better buy a coat.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland