1999-11-13 19:47:46

Simple Saturday

Weekends are wonderful. For the first time in seven years I have two whole days off a week. The only downside of weekends is I'm usually too tired on Saturday to accomplish anything.

Yesterday I struggled through about 9 hours of work (I know, I know, that's nothing to most of the world). I lost count of how many shows I did but I got far enough ahead that I don't have to go back in until Monday. I really need to get further ahead because I will have to leave early next Friday, but maybe I can make some headway Monday.

I shouldn't have "bragged" about my semi-promotion before. It fell through. When we were trying to buy this house last June, every time I said, "We're closing tomorrow," the whole deal would fall through again (and never our fault, nor the seller's fault). In frustration one night I was flipping through the Gideon Bible in my hotel and found a Proverb that said something to the effect of "Don't brag about tomorrow, because no one knows what tomorrow brings." I wrote that down and kept my mouth shut until the house finally closed. I should relearn that lesson.

I was a little miffed at this East Texas town and it's program director. I got bumped up to do nights, I went to a lot of effort to improve the show, trying to get in touch with the PD (and never did), and learning more about the station. I did the nights about a week and then got the word that they had hired someone locally to do nights and I was back to all-nights. Probably better in the long run because you can cruise through the all-night shifts with less content than nights (yes, I'm lazy), but it took a lot of time and energy for no purpose. I did get cut back one shift on the weekends so that was the upside of the whole situation.

I started writing this journal when, last Sunday maybe? Today I check e-mail and I've already been found out by an old friend that linked to me through Jette's diary (I'd put a link to Jette's excellent journal but I'm too lazy---see above). She recognized the obvious radio and drum references and, decently, wrote to let me know she was reading. It is one small damn world! She's really more the friend of a friend and it's been a long time since I've seen her and it was really nice to hear from her again. I remember the night she taught my writing class in place of our mutual friend. That was the day after my first date with my husband and he sent a dozen red roses to me. I was so high and so giddy I don't remember the class that night but she was a great teacher. I always enjoyed her classes more than the main teacher.

I hate it that she got in on the beginning of this journal though, I'd rather her see a more polished product since she is really an AUTHOR and WRITER, not just a wannabe like me. Oh, well, that's part of why I'm doing this, to get over that shyness of letting people see even the crappy stuff. Maybe if I write enough crappy stuff I'll find a few threads that can be woven into something better.

Charlie Robison is singing on Austin City Limits. I like him and I adore his brother Bruce. Charlie is the better entertainer, Bruce the better songwriter. They are both people I have met but they don't really know me. More of those famous people I'd like to be friends with and not just a fan. I know where Bruce and Kelly Willis live (they live across the street from friends) but I guess it wouldn't do to just drop by.

Now Gary P. Nunn is singing the closing theme. Gary is one I probably know all too well. The hubby played with him a long while. Nothing like getting fired after a New Year's Eve gig. It was expected but still not nice, in my opinion.

I'll sing my closing theme now too---

Pecan trails to you

Branches waving in the breeze...

Pecan trails to you

As much pie as you can squeeze

(I can't remember how the rest of the tune goes so I will hum the rest)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland