Tuesday, Nov. 01, 2005 12:05 pm

The Novel Begins

I did start my NaNoWriMo novel last night and got 2901 words written. I'm proud of myself. I hope I can find something to write about tonight, too. I want to keep up with it. I haven't learned how to jump from one scene to another. I feel there needs to be every detail. "So she got in her car and drove to work" doesn't really seem to fit as a transition. I know I don't need that. Anyway, I've started and I'm glad.

I was on the air all day yesterday and today I am angry. Cotton called this morning offering to have someone fill in for me today. He always phrases it that he is in "a difficult position" because the boss has told him to make the decision of whether or not I should be on the air. I felt like yesterday went fine. Sure, my voice is weaker and it was a little weaker in the last two hours. But not so weak that the average listener is going to turn away or freak out over it. And today will be better. I didn't let him push me off the air, but said I wanted to talk to the boss about it when I get to the office. I don't like the boss letting this joker make decisions about my show. I'm angry. I want to keep some of this anger with me too for empowerment.

When I got home from work yesterday a few trick or treaters were still making the rounds in the dark. Many looked too big to be out there, in my rule book of raising children. Mark was in the garage with the door open so that he could work and administer candy at the same time. A few of the neighbor girls came over to show me their costumes and they were adorable. We were running out of candy and I wasn't in a Halloween mood, so we turned out the lights and Mark got ready for his gig. I laid down to take a short snooze. I really intended on going to see his gig since they were dressing up as a cowboy band, but I was unwakable. I slept about three hours. I do think being on the air took a lot out of me.

When I finally did get it up it was all I could do to just "be" around the house. I read emails and woke up a little more and then when midnight struck, I started the novel. I worked pretty well on it for a couple of hours. I thought I didn't have enough words, but when I figured it up it was way more than enough. More than 1/30th of what needs to be written. Now I'll be getting into the tougher part because I have no idea how to get from Part A to Part B. Maybe some cogitation through the afternoon will help me figure it out.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland