Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2003 6:47 am

Weekend in Dallas

Re-reading Saturday's entry. . .Lame-o! Sorry when they are like that. Don't expect this one to be any better.

Great weekend in Dallas. I only wish it could have been longer. I really miss being so close to my family. I hate leaving and knowing I won't be seeing them for weeks or months. Maybe not too long this time because we invited them to come for Thanksgiving with us.

We went to a wedding Saturday night in DFW. It was a childhood friend of Mark's and I didn't even get to meet him or the bride, but it was a nice wedding and an interesting reception with good food and cake. We didn't know a soul but sat with another couple that didn't know a soul and then we found lots of things in common with them. . .including our first names and hometowns! The woman and I found lots to reminisce over about Big A town even though she left about the time I was born.

We spent the night at Mark's mom's and I enjoyed the stay. I had never spent the night with them. Mark and I are always ill at ease at their house. Everything seems very formal. But I was glad we made the effort and had a good visit with them. I don't know when we'd seen them last. It's been well over a year since I saw them, I'm sure.

Sunday was a great visit with the family at my sister's house. It was the older nephew's 16th birthday and Dad gave him his own pickup. I felt sorry for Daddy. He said this is the first time in 40 years he hasn't owned a pickup. Of course, we had one on the farm for many years because you needed it, and he's had one since they moved down by Denton because he wanted one. Now he doesn't need one at all, but it is just a symbol and he will miss it.

I'm up early this morning to go be in the Veteran's Day parade. I am awake but I feel like I'm writing gibberish with choppy sentences so I will put you out of your misery now and stop.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland