May 09, 2002 12:20 am

Job changes

I just re-read yesterday' entry and I don't know what the glitch is that causes all the apostrophes to have a slash beside them. Hope you can read it. I will try not to be posessive or contract or quote today.

I called the cafe to see about being off Friday night so I could go to this funeral. Good news: Found out I was already scheduled off so I do not have to find a replacement. Bad news: I was scheduled for LAST night and I did not know it and did not go in (I feel like I am Dr. Seuss not using contractions). Oh well, they did not fire me yet. I do have to work tomorrow so I need to get my work clothes, plus order pad, good pen, cheap pens for credit card receipts, et al, together for tomorrow.

First thing I must do in the morning is take my car to Howard, my mechanic. Yesterday the brake and battery lights came on. They have done this before and it seems to just be a short or electrical problem. I have ignored it. But tonight I was going to go up to the club Mark is playing at. As I drove and hadn't gotten too far from the house, the song on the radio went away, then faded up again, over and over. I felt sorry for the d.j. on duty and couldn't imagine why he couldn't get it on the air right. Then I looked down and saw that the lights on my stereo were also going off and coming back on. Then the airbag light on the dash began flashing (I kept waiting for it to explode in my face). I turned around and came home. I think my headlights were also dim. Maybe the alternator isn't alternating, the generator isn't ginning, and the pistons aren't p. . .well, they aren't working either (old joke). Now it seems like it has done this before, wouldn't start when I needed to take it to Howard, had it towed in and then it didn't have the problem again at all so he couldn't fix it. I hope I can find a problem and a solution--FAST--tomorrow morning.

I have suggested a neat solution to my boss to fill all the slots in his office staff. I have a friend that would be great doing his billing and dealing with insurance companies and keeping him financially in line. She would like to do that part-time. I could become full-time and do the scheduling and transcription and everything else that needs to be done in an office. I just e-mailed the idea to him tonight, tomorrow I'll see what he says.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland