May 08, 2003 9:24 pm

Creepy?

Mark is home and I'm happy about that. It is wonderful to have him close. He is asleep now as he readjusts to Central Daylight time. I did ask him to have Mexican food with me for lunch and he did. I asked him to Willie and he said he had had enough music and shows for a while, so I allowed him that. He's happy to be back to Mexican food, iced tea, and not having to climb in a van each day and go on down the road.

Sadness today. My pet fish Mike died. I have had Mike for two years and two months. I got him on St. Patrick's Day, thus, the name Mike (Pat would have been too obvious). He's been a good pet and happily greeted me at the side of the bowl each morning when I shook his pet food. He wasn't cuddly and wasn't much of a good listener, but, for a fish, he had a lot of personality. Mark said he would take care of the nasty task of disposing of him, but I came home tonight and found him still floating in his murky bowl (the murder weapon, I'm afraid) and I flushed him myself after a quick prayer and thank you for his pet-ship.

I've got a creepy situation going, which is probably punishment for all my lurid thoughts about CGP. There is a man I work with, not an official co-worker, but he does stuff with us and I see him occasionally. I have seen him a lot more often in the last month because of our music series, primarily. He is funny and fun to be around and we have hit it off and I have enjoyed laughing with him at these events. Last week I also met his charming young wife and I like her as well, though not like him. She is MUCH younger than he is and I don't have much in common with her. In the last couple of times I have been with this guy, I have begun to get a vibe from him that seems more than just flirtatious. He has certainly been flirtatious and his humor is quite blue, but this seems a little stronger and more suggestive. Today he called me on the air (several times) and seemed to be trying to say something. He was saying how fun I was to be around and how much he enjoyed my company, etc. I finally was bold and said, "So what you're saying is that you like being around me but we're not going to have a love affair, right?" (hoping that that was what he was trying to say), but he said, "That's not what I said," in his usual joking fall back position. Odd. I really got the impression, without it being expressed, that he was saying, "Yes, I have a young sexy wife that I'm quite proud of, but the ball is in your court and if you want to have a fling, I'm all for it." I am certainly NOT all for it. He is fun and interesting, but doesn't quite have that resonance that I want to even fantasize about. Maybe I don't because he is so willing! All in all, it is kind of creeping me out. I told him that Mark isn't going to Willie and he was all for giving away his tickets and me and him going together. No, I said, I wanted a friend to go with me. Now I just need to find a friend! I need a buffer. I can certainly hang with my boss and his wife and be "safe," but I need to put off a different vibe. Maybe I've been putting out that lustful, dissatisfied wife vibe so long with no effect on the handsome men around me that I thought it wasn't there, but now someone has picked up on it and I'm at a loss as to what to do about it!

I felt particularly uninspired at work today. I spent an hour and a half after my airshift doing what should have taken 30 minutes, tops. Now I have come home to be with Mark and he is asleep. That is fine, he has to decompress, but I am a little disappointed, I will admit. I don't see any kitties around, either, so I'm assuming and hoping they are in the bedroom with him.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland