Monday, May. 07, 2012 8:17 am

New Job Began Successfully

I need more coffee...

OK, I got more coffee. I need breakfast, too, but I can't figure out what I want or what I'm willing to fix.

Today is a back-to-normal day, thank God. Last week was a crazy busy week. We had Linda and Rochelle in from LA and Joel, Randy, Michael, and Jim in from Seattle for training and meetings. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner with them every day (just about) and happy hours, too. No "normal" work was done. I am ready to return to my little quiet desk and my normal routine that I love so much. I hope I can go walking with my friend Susan again, too.

I started my new job this weekend and did 4 newscasts for a far flung station. In future weeks I'll just do 2 newscasts on Saturday. I haven't really figured out the pay involved, but I hope it gets me enough extra change to make it worthwhile. I'll do it for a while and we'll see, I guess. It was not hard work, just a little time consuming while I learn what I'm doing. I kind of liked it.

I especially like that I got my "studio" working like it should. I can hear my voice, I can see the meters, I can fix things with it. It is good.

I saw a thing online I want to order. It is a flash drive-sized recording device that plugs into the USB port to download. Awesome. That would be a great way to talk to people at the reunion, etc., and not as intimidating as a microphone and I wouldn't have to borrow Mark's recorder.

This weekend I did a lot of relaxing and napping. Nice. We ate barbecue at the Live Oak place on Saturday. I napped both afternoons. I slept on the porch yesterday morning while it was raining. The rain Saturday night through Sunday morning was a big surprise and needed so badly. I did do laundry and cleaned the kitchen and made soup a couple of times. Otherwise, I watched TV and read. I wish I had more weekends where I had time for that sort of thing.

This coming weekend I will work on Saturday and then go to Dallas for Mother's Day. It is causing some consternation for Mark as he tries to figure out what he wants/needs to do about his mother. I have suggested that he do what he always does for Mother's Day (flowers, card, maybe a call) and then worry about "tell her how he feels" later in the summer. I suggested he might talk to Travis about this, too, and he was open to that.

I guess I should sing the praises of Pristiq a little more. As I look around this office that needs more cleaning and I think about genealogy that needs a LOT done before the reunion in THREE months, etc., I am not freaking out or suffering anxiety at all right now. That is such a wonderful bonus. I might miss a little of the adrenaline it gave me, but mostly I am happy to not be freaked out all of the time.

I guess this is enough for this morning. I like writing in the morning.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland