Friday, May. 07, 2004 11:48 am

Breathing deeply

I am moving slowly this morning. Figuratively. My body is back up to snuff for the most part, I'm just not ready to go to work and I need to be there soon. I'm leaving for Dallas tomorrow for Mother's Day and there are so many things I need to think about and DO (duh, like get a Mother's Day gift together).

I got some wild goofy shoes on Wednesday that have a spring on the heel and are supposed to improve your back and legs and relieve exhaustion, etc. I've been wearing them a couple of days and like them a lot so far. I can really see that they would be beneficial if you stood all day. I wish I had had them for my long weekend of remotes. I'm going to start doing commercials for the store that sells them if I continue to like them.

The show Wednesday was okay, but not great. I just haven't gotten into the swing of it this year. He played too many cover songs (especially songs by U2 and Tom Petty) and wasn't country enough for my tastes. The booker had him down for a second show later in the season, but I think we've put the kibosh on that.

We got our Winter book yesterday. Interesting... my station is the most listened to station in Austin again. Not quite the celebration we had that one other time, though. Very quiet. No one is talking about it. My big boss was the first I saw and asked if the book had arrived and he claimed to not even remember who was number one. So strange. Our numbers in our target demoes were not good and our sister station was down more than we were, but you'd think someone would say, "Congratulations!" I don't like the secrecy or the lack of appreciation.

But, of course, I still love what I do and who I do it with. This week has been more stressful than usual with a change in the on-air traffic and my neck being out of whack. I've taken Ativan a couple of times so that I don't tense my neck anymore than necessary. I'd drink whiskey, but they frown on that.

Mark just told me that there is a possibility that he might go to Dallas with me. I would love that so much. I don't really want to be driving with a stiff back for the 8 hours I'd be driving in two days and I'd love him to be with me to visit his Mom. He's a good buffer and he's who she wants to see anyway.

Deep breath. I'm trying to remember to breathe more. I need it. Now to get dressed and to work...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland