Sunday, May. 06, 2007 5:26 pm

Housecleaning

I'm about to go take a nap, but I'll do this before I forget completely.

I have worked today, mainly on the kitchen. It was a real mess. A real REAL mess had developed under the kitchen sink. I think six (or twelve) months ago we discovered a leak in a pipe under the sink. I put a bucket under there to catch the leak and see how bad it was. Then we forgot about it! I found a bucket brimming and overflowing under there or really rank water. Really disgusting and stinky. Practically sewer water (but not quite). Yuck yuck. So I have rinsed the bucket well and replaced it, but we are going to have to call a plumber for this one.

But I mopped and cleaned and dusted and rearranged plants and got things back up to code. The refrigerator and freezer really could use some serious cleaning (dumping!), but I didn't get that far. I did bring in all the stuff from the car that I brought back last weekend from Mom's. Now I need to find places to put it all! My car has a flat, too, so that adds another task to my Monday (along with an oil change and state inspection that is overdue).

The cats woke me up in the night last night and I thought it was morning. I was thinking "well at least I was able to sleep through the night with Mark gone" and thought it was at least close to dawn. Then I looked and it wasn't even four yet. Augh. I did manage to go back to sleep, but the cats were after me again by 7 a.m. so I had to get up. I fed them and started the house cleaning. My sister got my email and knew I was up so she called and talked an hour and a half. I let her talk about the things stressing her out and gave her the attention she needed. I was a good listener.

My sweet husband hung Mom's pictures today and did some things for her. Now he is on his way back to a gig in Austin for tonight. While he's working I want to clean my office a LITTLE at least and work on the quilt when I settle in for some TV eventually.

The remote yesterday was a good one with Daphne and Mary Helen and Gorilla all showing up. Nice to see friendly faces that aren't there to win something. They were about the only ones that did come. Then I went on to the other show and it was good. The clouds kept things more pleasant. I introduced Larry Gatlin, which I had not done before. I stayed around for Roger's show, too. I don't often get to go to one of his shows and it was comfortable and pleasant so I stayed for almost the whole thing. I helped Courtney shut down the porch before I left. I helped the kids at my remote shut down the tent, too, and Brian, whom I had never worked with, thanked me profusely. I know I'm the only jock that does that.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland