Saturday, May. 06, 2006 12:05 am

Old boyfriend

It's Friday night and I need to be packing to leave in the morning, but I'll wait until the morning. I'm sure I'll get there soon enough. Dad is not in a nursing care facility just yet. They finally tracked down his infection to his blood stream and he has been having transfusions today. I don't know what the weekend will bring. They might move him to this new place Sunday. Or tomorrow. Or Monday. Or he'll go home. Or we'll all pull out our hair and say "Make up your mind!" I did buy dad a pretty bromeliad to take up there.

Let's see. Since Wednesday. The music series was really good Wednesday night. I didn't like the cluster fuck of having the opening band and hoping they would be off on time and we'd have the next band on in a timely manner, but it all worked out. Mickky and the Motorcars were really good. Fabulous. I'm very happy I got to see them do a whole show. They were great.

Last night was an interesting night. I went to Benihana's (or Benny Hahas as my mother calls it) last night for a business dinner thing. I ate with a saleswoman and a man from our internet marketing group...both who I didn't know at all. It was a good dinner, but, of course, at Benihana you are being entertained and it really doesn't allow for a lot of free conversation so I don't know that I got to know too much about them. It was a fabulous meal and I hope no one expected me to leave a tip. I figured that the owner wanted me to be there and the salespeople made me go, so if anyone would tip, they should. I just left (which made me feel guilty).

I was up by the supper club that Mark was playing at. I had heard about it and thought I should check it out. I got there in the rain and the band was under the awning. I joined them and visited and went in for a moment. I decided that I was just going to go on home at that point. But I got to my car and it was pouring rain now and lightning everywhere and I checked the forecast and we were in the worst of it and I didn't want to be driving in hail and rain, so I decided I would stay. At about that time, all the electricity went off. I waded back in, soaked, and everyone was there by candlelight. I was ready for a glass of wine at this point, but the bar was pretty snippy and they were not going to be serving anything while the electricity was out. What? pouring a liquid from a bottle to a glass requires electricity? I would give you CASH, but NOOOOOO, they have to have their precious computers keeping track of it all. That is not a bar, that is a corporation. So, no wine, but I stayed. Eventually the band took the bandstand and continued, unplugged. All was well with the piano and drums and bass, but the electric guitar didn't sound like much. But it was fun to watch and listen to the band with the thunder rolling and the lightning shining through the windows. Some people were still in the bar talking and ignoring it all, but about a dozen of us were cozied up to the candlelit bandstand. The electricity came back on and went off again and then was back on before they were finished, which helped them get packed up. The manager was a real jackass to the band and got his ass chewed by the bigger manager, but regardless, I don't think there will be any more gigs for this band at that club. Totally soulless.

I drove home through dark neighborhoods and lots of lightning. Our electricity here at the house was fine, though. No damage or trouble. There are predictions of more storms tonight, but it looks like it isn't going to happen now. Maybe rain, but no storms.

Oh... the most unusual item of the week that keeps occupying my mind. A blast from the past. I got a message on my myspace site. It was from my old boyfriend... the one I dated in 1980. Wow. After he broke up with me we lived in the same town for several more years and I never saw him anywhere, which isn't easy in a small town. Then I moved to Dallas and went to an office party lunch at a restaurant one day and ran into him. I remember him saying hello and saying my name and I looked at him completely blankly and said, "Do I know you?" That was about 1989. Then in 1992 I was on the air in Dallas and Mark was at the station with me for a bit. We'd only met maybe a week or two before and were madly in love. I got a call from my old boyfriend. He lived in the area and had heard me on the air. It really seemed like a sign to me because I had no feeling toward him at all. It really made me realize that that door was certainly closed and I wasn't interested and only wanted to be with Mark. We had a good hour-long talk that night, though, and he admitted that he had cheated on me while we were dating (which I accused him of but never had proof) and he apologized for the way he treated me. Seems like he even married the older woman he was screwing so that he could use her raquetball court? I don't remember now. So anyway, now he shows up with a message on my myspace. He says he heard me on the air about a year ago and this week he heard a song that reminded him of me (Christopher Cross Ride Like The Wind of all things... .why couldn't it be Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress by the Hollies or something?). So he googled me and found my myspace right off the bat. It was a nice letter. It did include his phone number, which I will not use. I did write him a message back. I am curious about his life. My myspace spells out just about everything that is going on in my world, but he apparently just signed up in order to send me a message and so all I know is that he is single, Aries (I already knew that) and he is OLD!! When did he get OLD? Did he see my cute pic there and thing, "God, she's old!!"???? Well, what is it they say, Happy living is the best revenge? I'm glad he could read my whole myspace and see that I'm happily married (in fact, I think we might have gotten married on HIS birthday!) and have been for 13 years and I have a successful career. He was such a fuckup then and I don't know that he ever got past that. He was smart, no doubt, but a total pothead and fuckup. It was his being a pothead that colored a whole lot of my feelings toward that drug and its users, and for that I resent him. That and LOTS more. I told a co-worker about his message and she said "Oh my God, that's how affairs get started!" Well, of course it is, but only when people want to have affairs with former boyfriends that were complete fuckups. That will not be a problem here.

So... otherwise... I have lost another piece of a crown in my mouth. Great. I'm falling apart piece by piece by piece. Next time he finds my picture online I'll be toothless as well as OLD.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland