Friday, May. 04, 2007 10:47 am

Extreme Crankiness

Is it really Friday? This week seems to have been very long... I guess because of getting home so late Sunday night. It put me behind every day. I just don't bounce back like I once did. Whine whine whine.

I had a truly aggravating day yesterday. Nothing that is bad enough to complain about... but it is my journal so I will, dammit. It was one of my favorite co-worker's birthday and there was a lunch in her honor downtown. The email earlier in the week said that the restaurant Rio was on Red River between 3rd and 4th and lunch was at 11:30. The people hosting this lunch are always chronically late, but I hate to be late because I was afraid the birthday girl might be there alone if I weren't on time. That's what usually happens at MY birthday lunch (which is part of the reason I opted out of my own this year).

So I go downtown and I don't see a restaurant in the designated location, but I go ahead and park when I find a spot and walk back to that spot. No, no Rio. I call the party-planner. Oh, she says, it is on San Jacinto. Okay, so a three block walk that direction to find the place. It is 1150 by this point and I think, at least I won't be the first one here. But I am! Twenty minutes late and I'm the first one there. Finally another saleswoman comes (it is after 12 by now). Oh, she says, there was an email... I get back to work later and find an email at 1124 that has the correct address and says that lunch is at 1145 now. Errrrrr. Burn burn burn. By the time everyone arrives, orders are taken, chips are devoured, my phone alarm goes off, telling me that my meter is rapidly running out, six blocks away. It is too far to go feed the meter and I am too pissed to enjoy sticking around. I decide to just pay and have one of them bring me my damn taco later. About the time I make that decision, the food shows up. So I just shovel mine in my mouth, walk as quickly as I can back to my car and see that I am 15 minutes late for the meter. Fortunately, no ticket yet.

So I started the afternoon in a very cranky, put-upon mood and it didn't go away. I'm aggravated at the girl that does traffic. She has been there five months, but she just doesn't seem to be catching on. She's nice, just clueless. She logged three live spots in one hour earlier this week, said she would correct it, then I get up to that hour and see that they are all still there and there is no way to fix it at that point. Errrrrr. Burn Burn Burn. For today's log there is the same thing. I will check earlier in the day today so that I don't have to talk that much in the six p.m. hour. It isn't that I can't talk that much, I think it is probably a tune-out for me to yabber on break after break!

Even Mark irritated me last night and this shouldn't irritate at all. I just about make up my mind to NOT ask him to do anything with me because it is always a no or a later or not this time. I decide that I will not worry about his meals or his coming-home time, I will just work and do my own thing. So I'm working last night and I had a couple of things to do in my head and he calls to see what my plans are. I wish he would just call and say, Do you want to go do dinner? Or, better yet, "I must see you and I would love to take you to dinner." I feel torn because I'm not very hungry and I really do have more things to be done, so we compromise and we're going out to dinner tonight. Of course, when we discussed this morning where we might go he gets defensive and didn't plan for it to be a "big" night out, just a meal. Which is fine, just tell me where we are going and don't get upset when I suggest a nice place.

I did, fortunately, get out of the remote they were asking me about on Sunday, so my Sunday is free. I need to clean this office (and the whole house) and work on my quilt and so many other projects that float around in my head. I was thinking today about a blog with my radio career and pictures and all the places I've worked and people I've worked with and met. I don't have time for that! I don't have time to write in this blog, how could I do pictures and be coherent? But it is thought I had. There is so much I need to do in the genealogy, too. I need to sort through Daddy's toy box and just unload my car! Geez, there is a carload from last weekend that needs to be moved into the house or garage and at least consider how it is going to be incorporated into our lives.

Apparently, I'm going into this day with a lot of the same irritation I had yesterday. Maybe it is the full moon that just passed, or the constant rain and cloudiness we've had. I will go eat something and try to get the blood sugar going and improve my attitude so that I can get something done today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland