2000-05-05 01:51:15

He's off on tour

A busy day getting the Drummerboy off on his first tour since we've lived in Austin. It may be a long 18 days for both of us. I sent him with many dozens of cookies, but I know if it were me on that trip they probably wouldn't last past Dallas. Maybe they have more willpower than I do.

The I Love You virus got us good at work. We didn't have any e-mail today. It didn't affect me much except that I missed my e-mail connections.

Tonight I joined up with some friends of the lesbian persuasion (is that a bad sign when you hang out with lesbians the first night your husband leaves town?). Not as odd as it sounds. One friend's band was playing and I went to see them play with another friend. We all work together and they are nice, fun women. I had to go back to work after so I didn't stay long.

I can't quite get it through my head that I am going to be leaving town tomorrow. I want to spend a quiet weekend at home and I especially don't want to pack. I must get it all together because I really need to leave straight from work as soon as I can tomorrow evening. I'm hoping I can get gone by about 6:30. Tomorrow night will just be a stopover in Dallas and then on to Decoration Day in Mount Pleasant Saturday morning, much too early. Saturday night I'll come back, maybe to the parents near Denton instead of Dallas and spend time with them. Monday is Dad's MRI and Monday night is the clarinet-tooting nephew's band concert. I hope I can stay for that too.

Hey, just looked at the date and it is now officially Cinco de Mayo. Maybe I can squeeze in migas for breakfast tomorrow to celebrate. I'm so poor I'd better make them for myself at home.

Observation about my job: It is especially weird to me that I can have listeners in these towns all across the country THAT I DON'T LIKE! Isn't that a strange concept. For the most part, I don't have a clue who is listening. Some e-mail ocassionally, and I get phone calls from one station. That is the station I have developed a deep dislike for one female listener. I have experienced this feeling of aggravation upon answering the request line at a dozen stations and knowing who the caller is from their first words. The one in this particular town calls everyday with a whiney wussy voice and requests the worst songs. She also enjoys calling and correcting things I've said on the air that are wrong. Yes, she is listening too damn closely. I need to take a deep breath and thank my lucky stars that I only hear her messages on their answering machine and I don't have to talk to her myself. I'm sure there are two dozen listeners that I would really like but since they HAVE a life they don't call the radio station. There's another wussy female in that town that calls daily to complain about the contest we are running in that town. She doesn't understand it and wants and explanation or thinks it is rigged and complains and curses. Another that I'm glad I don't have to talk to, so why do I dwell on them?

There is a tiny fly here by the computer dive bombing my face. I'm giving up.

Probably no update until I'm home from Decoration and Dallas. Have a good weekend.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland