Thursday, May. 03, 2007 10:32 am

Rained out show

I'm groggy this morning after a late night at my events, plus staying up to watch Idol's results show. Hooray, Chris and Phil are gone. They both seem like very nice people, but I was tired of them completely. My prediction: Lakisha is next. Then, it really wouldn't surprise me if Melinda goes off. She is my favorite and, in my opinion, the most talented and best singer, but she just doesn't have that Idol vibe that the kids want. I think Jordin and Blake will duke it out for top spot and there is no telling who will win. After this week, I think Blake has a good shot at it because he is unique. I pegged Jordin early to win, but that may not happen after her bad performance Tuesday night. It could end up Blake or Jordin and Melinda on the final week, but I still think Melinda will NOT be the Idol this year. I'll buy her CD and she WILL have a career, certainly, but I don't think she will be the Idol. Pecan has spoken!

Our show got rained out last night. That hasn't happened in a long long time and I don't think we've ever lost a broadcast during the show. But at 8:30 or so the wind was shifting and someone called us from South First and said it was pouring rain there. She was able to finish that song and I was able to make the announcement and goodbye. I hope we could get her back on before the night ended, but it rained for two solid hours-- and rained hard. I got soaked going to my car before I headed to the other bar. The other bar is always deserted, but even more so last night. It was pitiful. There were maybe 12 people there.

One pitiful woman: A guy came over and was the first to register for our guitar. He motioned over to his little halter-topped wife/girlfriend and said "Can I register for her, too?" We said, sure. So there are two names in the basket. In a bit this small halter-topped woman appears at the table to register for the guitar. I said, Oh, I think your husband already registered you. I pull out the slip for "Rosie Smith" and say, Isn't that you? She says, No, I'm not Rosie Smith! and carefully writes down "Rosie Jones." How drunk must she have been? Needless to say, they did not win the guitar.

My father-in-law is being moved to a rehab facility for some more care this week. He got the pacemaker and that all went well.

There is some debate at work about a remote coming up on Sunday. I got sick the last time I worked both days of the weekend and, as tired as I am this week, I don't want to make that mistake again and wear down. I have a remote on Saturday already and a FREE appearance that night that is going to tire me out a lot. The remote on Sunday is way the hell up in Georgetown, too. I would love the money, but I just can't spend every day working. I think there is one more possibility for someone else to do it... if he can't, it may end up back in my lap. We'll see today, I suppose. Last time this business needed a remote, the promotions department assigned the traffic girl and the fat man, who NEVER does remotes, just threw a fit and insisted that that was his client and he should have the remote. He got it, of course, but I don't know why he isn't getting it this time, too. It is up by his house. I think they should insist that he take it this time since no one else is availabe/wants it.

I am going to a birthday lunch here momentarily. I need to get dressed and go. That's the hardest part of my day (which I need to appreciate more, I could be cleaning up vomit, but that is another story).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland