Wednesday, May. 03, 2006 11:18 am

More care for Daddy

Oh, how things change from one morning to the next. I had had a visit with Mother and my sister yesterday, but then my sister called as I was going to work and told me (in tears) that they were going to have to put Dad in a nursing home. Of course, it isn't really a nursing home, it is a skilled nursing facility and that is a good thing. It isn't permanent, it isn't long-term (we hope), it is just another week or so until he is stronger. He still has a fever and infection and he is still quite addled and weak, so he needs this. We talked about it and cried a lot. I talked to Mother later in the afternoon and she was her usual "oh won't this be fun!" self and was quite cheerful, although I know she is just as sad about this as we are.

Daddy was especially unhappy. He was ready to "get his britches and go home." He is having lots of difficulty with things though. He needs this. My mother did explain it to him well, though. She reminded him about being on the rehab floor of the hospital after his neck surgery. This is the same thing, it just isn't within the same hospital.

So that was my eventful day. I'm working hard to get ahead where I can in case I need to jump and run up there. I think I can go up Friday night or Saturday morning and be okay. Come back Sunday night or Monday morning.

My computer desperately needs more storage. I need to find a way to get me a good external hard drive for backups and for just keeping all my audio and big stuff. I can't believe my iPod has more storage than the computer.

This morning I've been scanning baby and toddler pictures of my nephew that is about to graduate. They use them for a senior presentation thing they do. My sister didn't have the time so I did a dozen or so. He was such a sweetie. Still is.

Today is the music series. I've been listening to last week's show and it was very good. Quite rock and roll on a few songs, but he also did Merle and Willie and I'm not complaining. He was very good. I hated to have missed that one. Tonight is weird because my friend, the booker, double-booked and so we have an opening act for the first time and we had completely vetoed that idea. And Mark works for the sound company and he knows they are going to be mad because they don't get any extra for doing more sound. She really really should have just cancelled the other band and made it up to them somehow. I don't know that this is going to help her recoup her money by having them play. I think she should have just cut her losses. Yesterday there were emails flying around about the order of things for tonight and I forwarded them on to the boss because he hadn't been in on any of this. I do NOT want to be the one making decisions. I wish I were the kind of person that wants to take charge and make things happen, but I'm not and I can live with it. I want everyone else to live with it, too. My boss can live with it, so I forward them on to him and let the chips fall.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland