2000-05-04 01:44:07

Teddy Bear

It is weird being a disc jockey and having these little moments of mirth all by yourself and only being able to share it with your invisible audience, if at all.

Tonight I played the song "Teddy Bear" by Red Sovine on my classic country show in Farmington, NM. I hadn't heard it in years (it was a big big hit in 1976) so I listened to it all the way through. If you are unfamiliar with the song, here is the story:

A trucker is passing through and hears the message on his CB radio, "Break 1-9, won't somebody come back and talk to Teddy Bear." So the trucker responds and Teddy Bear tells his sad story. He's a crippled little boy and his father was a trucker but he died in an accident and so now his mother has to work and they are poor and he knows he'll never ride in an 18 wheeler again but he just hopes the truckers will talk to him ocassionally on their CBs. The trucker, of course, has tears in his eyes and asks the boy where he lives. Teddy Bear gives him the address and the trucker takes the next exit and heads toward 229 Jackson Street. He gets there and finds three city blocks filled with 18 wheelers and Teddy Bear having the time of his life with trucker after trucker giving him rides in their trucks. He takes his turn with Teddy Bear and then the truckers all take up a collection to give to Teddy Bear's mom (who is still at work). As he drives on down the road he gets a call on the CB from Teddy Bear's mom thanking all the truckers.

The song was a real tear jerker in 1976 but, good Lord, the world has changed. Can you imagine what you'd do to your son if he gave out his address over a CB (or the Internet) and allowed strange men to come to the house and take him in their trucks for a ride!!!??? Some of the lyrics on the song made me raise an eyebrow like they never had before either: "After each trucker had taken his turn riding Teddy Bear around in their truck..." Yuck. We've turned into a sick society when my first thoughts when I hear those lyrics are not fit for radio!

Oh, well. I got a big laugh out of it.

I only saw bits and pieces of the Academy of Country Music awards. I taped them and will watch them sometime. I like to watch them taped so I can fast forward through the commercials and Reba McEntire. I did see Wynonna doing her thing and she looks like she stepped off the screen from a John Waters movie.

I am so set in my ways and so comfortable with the way things are. I got to work today and my studio was in shambles. There were new computer terminals everywhere and boxes all over the place and absolutely no way to work there. I expected to have to move to another studio but the engineer said he'd be throug in about 15 minutes. Fortunately I didn't have to move studios and that made it at least half way normal for the night. But my "cabinet" where I have kept all my things for a year is no longer mine. My stuff had been boxed up (oooh, I'm glad I didn't see that the minute I got to work, I would have thought my firing was coming) and set aside. Now I have to move it all to a file drawer which just isn't as roomy or as useful as the cabinet. Especially since I was already using the file drawer TOO and now everything has to fit in there. All through the night I realized how comfortable I've been with my little cabinet close by with my lip balm, my paper clips, my books. Oh, well, nothing good ever came without some change.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland