Saturday, May. 31, 2008 11:01 am

Last of May catch up

Way too long between entries! I am bad enough about updating my other blog, but I need to keep this one updated just for myself.

The day after I last wrote, I got together with B! and my old boyfriend Scott and his wife. We had a really good time and a nice visit. I liked the wife. I hadn't known her well 25 years ago in Amarillo and had only developed my ideas about her later when I was trying to get Scott to fall in love with ME while they were broken up. That didn't work out, obviously, but that is a good thing. I still love all the things about him that I loved then. He's fun and funny and has a great voice. He is level-headed and just easy to talk to and be with. He is still all of those things. But back in the times we dated and then when I saw him again on a couple of vacations, he wasn't a good kisser and I never built up a passion or butterflies for him. He's one of those guys that I think I could have had a long and wonderful marriage with, if that is where it had ended, but it would have been a calm, comfortable marriage. And that is where marriages should end up (and that's where mine is happily now), but they really should start off with that crazy-head-over-heels-in-love beginning and he and I never had that.

My visits this trip with B! have been a lot better this year. Either I'm more accepting of her boyfriend and their relationship or she is just happier. I am sure I am more accepting since a year has gone by and he's been nice to her, whereas last year they had just gotten back together after being broken up and I wasn't sure it would last at all and I thought she was headed for another heartbreak.

Saturday I went to the wine festival to see the woman I hope to get some work from soon. Beth went with me. It was a little boring, but might be more fun if we went during the regular part of the day when lots more people were there. We were there during the VIP time. After that I went to Mark's co-worker Ross's wedding reception where Mark was playing. It was pleasant and was in a fabulous old house downtown that is more of a castle. After the reception while he was packing up, I walked all around the neighborhood to see how it all fit together. I walk downtown so seldom. There was a couple of cool buildings/houses by it that looked two story, but were really four stories because they were built on the side of an old quarry and two of the stories were underground from the street side, but not on the other sides.

I went to Amarillo for the weekend and had all sorts of delays going up and coming back. I woke up at 10 a.m. after I had made it clear we needed to leave the house by 10 a.m. So a rushed day with lots of waiting. The time there was nice, though, with a great visit with my aunt alone at her house and with my young cousin and her 5-year-old alone at her house. I visited old college friends and my cousin's husband who is lonely now in his big old house. We had a fabulous brunch with the whole family and then went to the cemetery for the ceremony for Daddy and veterans. It was nice. I visited a lot of graves there and at the other cemetery in town with Mom and my sister.

Horrible day of flying home. The best part was hearing from my old boss who had read my blog about Jack and called to thank me for mentioning him and to talk about old times. I also got a call from my uncle's nursing home...he was about out of cigars! Horrors! They said he gets cranky if he runs out of cigars. I ordered some online yesterday. I don't know how long 50 cigars lasts him so I'll order more if those go too fast, I guess. Small price to pay to make an old man happy. I would like to visit him again and record him, if I could. Probably better to record on video since he is difficult to understand. Or I can record and transcribe while I can remember what he was talking about.

Since I've been home it has been way too busy. M&M called while I was in an airport and one of our bands had canceled due to illness. She had to get a substitute, but I made a good suggestion as to what to do and that worked out well. Wednesday and Thursday I worked for her and did the shows, too. She wasn't home on Wednesday so I forged her name on checks for the two bands (one that included Mark). Thursday when she did get home that morning she realized she was locked out of her house so she called me early to come rescue her. I went in and did some work in prep for our move and then went home and then back to the Grove.

The Grove show was good, but I was anxiety filled with worries over the staging and electricity and the number of people there. Too chaotic and again, my little table got encroached upon so much it was unusable back in a corner where I was too claustrophobic to sit there. My friend Carol who works at a credit union was there as a client of the station and I sat at their table some. She and I talked about them sponsoring my website, too... that would be super cool, but she hasn't responded to my day-after emails so she may have been drunk.

Del Castillo was excellent, but I just wasn't in the mood. I hate that feeling of being on the outside looking in and looking in with high anxiety. Glad when it was all over. Mark was out when I came home, playing a gig. But I enjoyed the quiet and a sandwich and peace and kitties.

M&M wanted, definitely wanted, to get moved Friday so we could begin work there on Monday. She was going to hire someone to help and I said Mark would do it. He and I got up early on Friday to go do it and she had emailed that she was too tired and didn't want to move or have me come in. I was just as happy to stay home. I didn't seem to get a LOT done, but I did wade through some papers and pay a bill or two and got a little bit of a grip on things. I worked for her a couple of hours, too, going through emails to make sure I hadn't missed a detail.

Last night I went out with B! and her sister and our old friend Paula from Amarillo and her very talkative 16-year-old and the old boyfriend Scott. His wife couldn't make it this time. It was fun, but less fun with the kid there. But we were able to talk about Scott dating another friend of ours for a couple of years and more about him dating me, since the wife wasn't there. We tried to stay in this century, but it was fun to go back to old times in Amarillo, too. I want to scan some old pictures of us for my blog.

Today is Saturday and I hope it is a fun day. I'm going to go to a gig with Mark and we're going to stay overnight. I don't know how long it has been since we did this. He is playing in Luckenbach with Tommy for the first time in a long time. It will be like old days (maybe?). I don't know, I'm not as young and enthusiastic as I once was. But I will take a book and a computer and just relax as much as possible. We'll be back tomorrow and tomorrow I work again, out at Lakeway this time.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland