Saturday, May. 29, 2010 9:16 am

Memorial Day Weekend

My three-day holiday weekend is upon me! Lots to be done to feel good about it. I wish I were the kind of person that thinks, Holiday weekend! Let's go to the lake or shopping or out to lunch and see friends (no I really don't with that at all), but I'm the kind that thinks, Finally a chance to clean house and do the gardening. I will be a happier and more productive person for the week to come if I can get those things caught up.

I did get my Walt article written, hallelujah. I really think it is a good one, too. The editor changed one word (that he asked about), and I'm okay with that. It was better flowing and had more content than most of my articles, I think. A good finale for my writing career for a while.

Now I'm excited about putting together a book, maybe even about the Cunningham reunion. I met a girl at a party Thursday night who had used one of those online book places to create a big coffee table book about her travels with all of her pictures. It was really well done. Wouldn't that be cool to do that with reunion photos and the story of the reunion. Even if it wasn't "complete" (I'm always wanting thing to be perfect and complete) it would be cool just to gather ALL of the oldest photos and many through the years.

Wednesday night, after I wrote last, I had a few glasses of wine across the street (when I should have been home writing, of course). It was pleasant. I think she needed to talk and hasn't had enough social outlet because she talked nonstop about her upcoming cooking show and many other topics that got a little tiresome. But I enjoy her and she is sweet. Her house is beginning to smell more like the house of a cat lady, though, and that is sad.

Thursday I was up at the crack of dawn to type 2 reports I knew they needed and to put the final spit polish on the article and send it in. That made for a very very sleepy day. I got very frustrated at the end of the day and was making stupid mistakes at work (just time consuming -- like moving all songs into the wrong category or something). I was cranky. Then I had to rush home and try to find some clothes to wear and rush off to the party at my old boyfriend Scott's house.

I had been looking forward to it, but I wish by that time that I could cancel. I was so tired, I felt frumpy, Mark couldn't go (he got a gig), and B! wasn't going to be there (her seminar kept her until 10 p.m.). I got there and there were people standing and talking and I was introduced to a few, but Scott was busy moving stuff back out to the deck that he he rushed off of the deck when it rained for a few minutes and Cynthia was busy in the kitchen. No one offered me a drink or anything, which was a little weird. I visited with some people and looked at the picture book the girl had and then finally went and found some sangria. Scott spilled the first glass he poured all over the deck and that seemed to frustrate him. He and C were snapping at each other a little, which was weird. I enjoyed talking a lot to a girl that grew up on a farm in the Panhandle and went to WT. We had a lot in common. She walked me out to see Cynthia's fabulous garden, too. It was fenced and huge and her tomato plants made mine look like seedlings. The food at the party was wonderful, but there was no direction. I didn't know if people were just snacking on appetizers, but, no, they were filling their plates and eating. I like direction.

Mark just came in and suggested we go to see some garage sales. We haven't done that in ages (or I haven't anyway) so that will be fun. I've got dishes and clothes washing and lots to be done today, but I'm sure I'm not going to get started until Mark leaves for Fort Worth anyway, so I will do that.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland