Monday, May. 29, 2006 10:56 pm

Memorial Day Catch-up

I can't believe I haven't written in a week. And a hard, emotional week it was. Clifford Antone died on Tuesday. I wrote something on the station website, but I haven't written anything here. I want to do that, but not tonight.

We didn't have many people at our show on Wednesday. I don't think the event at Antone's was that much of a factor for us. I think the fact that it was the finale of American Idol was a huge hit on us. Mark went to Antone's so we didn't even start watching Idol until about 1:30 am. We were fast forwarding through lots of it just to get to Taylor winning. No surprise.

Thursday we left for Dallas. We got a late start, but we made it up there by one a.m. and my sister and my nephew, the graduate, were up and visited a while. Friday was the big graduation and I was very proud to see my baby walk across and get his diploma. We gave him a dorm-sized refrigerator and he thought that was very cool.

I put Mark on a plane to Colorado immediately after and he made it safely there and they had three good gigs over the weekend. He's on his way home now.

My mother was weird in Dallas on Saturday. I went to visit the folks (and they had been at graduation and Dad is doing really well) and had a friend of mine meet me at their house for a short visit. He's always wanting me to get together with them and I never do, so I emailed him and suggested he just meet me at the folks, which is near where he lives. His wife was out of town. My mother was very weird while we were there. We were visiting and she interrupts conversation and then dashes off to the computer room and stayed in there over an hour while he was there. Once he left she came back. It was almost like she disapproved of him meeting me there or something. Strange. If he and I were going to have an affair (and yes, I think he'd like that) we sure wouldn't be meeting up at my parents house! In fact, that's part of the reason I suggested that we MEET at my parents house.

Spent some more time at my sister's and then I was very flattered yesterday when an Austin friend of a friend called to see if I could come to Antone's last night for another night to honor Clifford. She was a good friend of his. I did go and had a really good time. So many of his discoveries, proteges, and one old blues guy that he supported were there to play the blues. We shed some tears, too, but it was very nice.

Re-reading what I wrote last Saturday and the frustrations at a remote... that went double this morning. I am fed up with the weekender that can't learn new stuff. I tried to talk him through learning to record today and he couldn't do it and I couldn't teach over the phone. He said "I think it would be better if I could learn this sometime when I'm not on the air" (in a rather snippy tone). I snipped right back and said, "You've had three YEARS to learn to do this."

Last weekend my Saturday felt like a Friday. Today my Monday feels like a long working Saturday, but I'll have to go back to work tomorrow. What a drag.

I will go to accordion night tomorrow night as another tribute to Clifford. I haven't gotten to cry with my teacher over it yet. We talked on the afternoon he died, but that's all.

Most of this is just my triggers to remember what happened this past week. I hope I can expand on some of it sometime. We're still a one computer family right now, but I'm home alone so I don't have a good excuse, do I?

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland