Sunday, May. 27, 2012 10:35 am

Vivid Dream

Dream this morning:

I was living in an apartment on the second floor and getting ready to go to work at a restaurant nearby. The apartment was near the Colorado River. Next thing I know, they've made the river into a waterpark-type ride and I am going to try it out. I go down it (floating, but not in a tube) and it is pleasant and I go a mile and then another and then decide to come back, but realize I don't know how to come back. It is VERY uphill at this point and the current is very strong and I can feel that I am getting pushed farther away and know I can't do the two miles to get back up to the top.

So -- at that point (now) I don't know how I got back up to the top.

Next, I go back to my apartment and everything around it has changed. They've changed the course of the river and make a lake there and everything around my apartment is lake and the lake comes up to the level of my apartment and all the one-story apartments are now underwater.

I think they even made me wait as they didn't have my apartment accessible at first, but then eventually I go to use the stairway, but the one they have built to get to my apartment is about 4 inches wide and almost like a ladder and very hard to get up. I finally do get back to the apartment.

I think at that point I am considering that when the lease runs out, maybe I'll just move home with Mom and Dad. I thinking about whether that is weird for someone my age to do. Wondering if they would want me to or not. And wondering if I'll ever get married or if I am settling for never having been married. Then I'm wondering "Have I been married once?" and I can't remember (there was NO recall of Mark in this dream - weird).

At some point I go to the new restaurant next door. The owner seems to be a friend of mine and he and I and maybe Christy (a friend) are eating or drinking some and discussing things. He's telling me about the music (later I try to describe the music to someone else and I'm saying how there is music all day and all night from a lot of bands. I haven't heard of any of the bands, but they are all very true honky-tonk kind of music). The place is very rustic and a little kitschy. We visit and talk about a lot of things, not really about me working there. We get up and go to another part of the restaurant which seems to be the beginning of the water ride that I had been on earlier (maybe it is in full operation now?). Now I'm with Mackie (some of the time) instead of Christy and he's showing it to us and he especially asks how long Mackie will be around and wants her to try it out. I'm reluctant to try it with her -- partially because I need to go to work and partially because of my previous experience. She's ambivalent about whether she can or not.

At some point in here I realize we haven't paid for lunch and, though I knew he was treating, I wanted to make sure and I go back to the table and there is some money (like his change) there. I add a 5 to the tip.

There were also cotton candy type machines pumping out things and a fat kid on the ride.

The apartment had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, I think. I think I was considering always using the other bathroom so if I brought someone "home" for the night, they would see a sparkling clean bathroom in the master room.

The dream was long and there may have been more to it. I think I left it and came back to it in different parts through the morning. I was very "at home" in this town and though the apartment was mine, it seemed new and wasn't really "home" in the dream. The owner of the bar was nice and a friend, obviously, and reminded me of Mike F of the Nutty Brown (though it really wasn't him). Even in my dream I was making the comparison.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland