Wednesday, May. 25, 2022 10:01 am

Rain

Family is back from Hawaii. Friend was in town while they were gone and we used their pool and had a nice cold soak (in my underwear, I forgot my suit). And my dear cousin passed away.

My friend's visit was short and she was angry and distracted because of the seminar she was going to Austin for to teach. I wished I could have eased her mind in some way, but I know she was glad to be here and share some time and laugh. We didn't stay up late drinking or anything, she was working too hard. I stayed up drinking, but not her. I loved having her here and getting to show her my house and my town. We went down to the square and I got to experience new things since I haven't really been down there much. But I was also glad to have my peace and my home to myself as soon as she was gone. Her seminar really begins tomorrow, I think, and I'm crossing my fingers for her.

The cousin died and her funeral was Saturday. I accidentally put Sunday for the funeral on the Facebook page and I had a cousin mad at me because he drove up for it and missed it. Ooops. If it was a cousin I liked more I would have felt terrible. As it was, I was glad I didn't have to see him. It was a beautiful and moving funeral. She had a sweet life and it was good to see all her grandkids and family. There were a few of us "far flung" relatives that came locally and me and two others from out of town.

We (the out-of-towners) all came together. I went to a fun FUN cousin's house in Granbury on Friday and spent the night. I had the best time. Great hosts, lots of fun, lots of wine and laughs. Very generous people. Her first cousin (more distant to me) also came over on Saturday and went with us. I don't care for her much either and she was very negative and strange.

There was another terrible school shooting yesterday - right here in Texas in Uvalde. It is really on my mind this morning and I don't know that anything will ever change. More kids die from gunshots than from car accidents, I read. Unreal how we regulate cars and carseats and who can be driving, yet almost anyone can have a gun and shoot a kid. The kids were all 9-10 years old.

We've had some rain this week and it is very cool and unusually lovely for May. Did I get out and garden? No, I napped on my couch with the door open.

I got some new dining room chairs from the Buy Nothing Group on Facebook. I haven't even taken them out of the car yet, but I will and I will enjoy having a full set of chairs around my table.

Work has been tolerable, but boring. Lots of QSRs and other easy stuff like that.

Before || After
Older Entries
We're Down - Wednesday, Jul. 13, 2022
Back Home - Monday, Jun. 20, 2022
Off to Tyler - Saturday, Jun. 18, 2022
Heating up - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2022
Memorial Day - Monday, May 30, 2022
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland