Friday, May. 25, 2007 11:29 am

Porch is complete!

I feel like another entry is missing from my journal. Weird. I can't find it though. I will make sure and check back on this one to see if it posts. I think I've written once this week.

It has been a hellacious busy week, though. I am going to make some changes so that it is not so busy in the future. When I start fantasizing about having a heart attack or major disease that causes me to slow down, that is not good! I WILL slow down and I WILL find more time for joy in my day.

One way I will do that is on our new screened-in porch. Bob finished it yesterday and it is fabulous. We spent an hour out there this morning just drinking coffee and watching cardinals and wrens and doves. I will get some more bird food to attract them even more now that I am out there with them. The cats were enjoying their new found perches. Wilburt seemed to "get it" more than Nathan. I said Nathan was probably saying "Screens? I used to roam wild and free! I killed things. I dragged home feather dusters! This is a poor substitute!" Nathan wasn't out there with us so I went searching and looked in all of his usual places and then in all of his hidey-holes and then looked again. No Nathan. So I got Mark and he started looking for him and I followed just to prove to myself that I had looked everywhere. No Nathan. So I had to take drastic measures. I shook the food and moved his dish on the tile floor. Willie came running. Finally I heard a jingle and Nathan appeared. He must have been on top of the refrigerator. No, I had not looked above eye level anywhere.

We had a good show this week at the cafe. Ty England was on stage. It was the final night of Idol, which always hits us pretty hard, but it wasn't horrible. He is a great entertainer and he had me come up on stage and he serenaded me. That was fun. He is very very cute. THe night all seemed to go relatively fast, even the club afterward.

When I got home and Mark got home (he went to see Jon D) we settled in to watch the finale of Idol. It was a two hour show and it was already late, so we fast forwarded through the group sings and the spots, of course. It was getting later and later and we started fast-forwarding through more and more. I'm watching the little guage and thinking "They'd better get to this quick." Then they are all butchering Sgt. Pepper songs and dancing and I comment that I hope the tape doesn't run out... and it does. Not tape, but the DVR was set for the two hours and not a minute more. Apparently it ran over, so we didn't get to see THE moment. Of course, we looked it up on the internet and saw that Jordin won immediately, but it just wasn't the same. So anticlimactic to have waited and waited and endured. Oh well. I pegged it for her way back. But I'll still buy Melinda's CD and not Jordin's.

Early this week I went to the benefit at Antone's for Buck's family. It was a somber affair and I couldn't leave until the end because I knew everyone that was playing. I am sure I wrote about it in the entry that is missing.

Last night I worked and worked and worked. We are doing this godawful Top 500. I do enjoy these things, but a little more time to work on it would have been nice. The Hamster got the list to me at 6:45 on Wednesday, just before I went to the cafe. So the entire thing had to be done yesterday. It is hard enough to do four days worth of logs, much less when each and every fucking song has to be hand-scheduled. And the really bad thing (well, there were several actually) was that I had to make his Excel list on my software for scheduling. I tagged every song on his list. But then when I pulled up that tagged list, it only had 498 songs. Where were the missing songs? I went through the lists comparing about three times. And each time I would find a song missing! And then I would find a song on my list that didn't belong, taking it back to the same discrepency. Augh. Augh Augh. Finally I gave up because I had to go on the air--- I hadn't even begun scheduling yet. So last night I started scheduling and I loaded the first log. There were lots of songs that the numbers didn't match. I fixed the numbers and that seemed to be okay, but then I looked through and found some wrong songs that had loaded because my song and number didn't match the song's number in the other computer. I thought I was going to have to go through all 500 songs to see if they matched, but decided that that was a waste of time, too, and I just gave it the once over. I will look more closely while I'm on the air today and see if "Cat Scratch Fever" is scheduled where it should be Webb Pierce or something, but I hope that is not a problem. I will also look for those missing two songs again today.

I got a little more perspective on my frustrating night as I stopped at Taco Bell. The drive-through guy was very nice and polite, but said he was having a tough night. I stopped my bitching (well, obviously I didn't, but you know what I mean) and realized that I do have it pretty well. I'm not standing up for 10 hours at a stretch and making minimum wage. I like what I do, I just get frustrated when I can't do it better because of time constraints.

I also recorded an interview yesterday that should air today, but I don't know if it will. I was terrible, he wasn't much better. It sounds wooden and really doesn't have much about the event we were promoting because he didn't know much more than that he plays at 3 p.m. I think I will skip it.

And I finally made a reservation to go to Dallas on Sunday. I hope I can relax while I am there and take at least one long nap. Graduation is Tuesday and I will enjoy that. We will miss Daddy, I'm sure. Mark and I were missing him this morning on the porch. I said that I knew he would enjoy it and Mark said he'd already thought about that. Then we were "quoting" Daddy with "How much d'you have to give for this?" "What?? A thousand dollars!" "Well I have a screen door you could have used." "I had a roll of screen wire I left up at the house when we moved. Should have taken it with me. Probably still right there where I left it."

I must get dressed and go face this day. Should be a little easier. I have a ton of voice-tracking to do, but at least some of it can be moved to tomorrow if need be. I'm going to hump through some of it while I'm on the air, I hope. I wanted to go out with Beth last night and couldn't. I hope we can go out tonight. I hate for her to be here for two weeks and me hardly see her.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland