Sunday, May. 24, 2009 10:55 am

First week at work

I'm glad it is a holiday weekend and I'm trying to get caught up so that I'll be ready for a big week of work and the return of M&M from London on Tuesday night. Yesterday I bought groceries and cleaned the fridge and did laundry. Today I will finish laundry and even iron, clean the house more thoroughly, and do some work. I need to cut a spot for Steve, type a report for Chuck, do advances for M&M. If I do all of that, tomorrow can really be a holiday. I've already suggested to Mark that we go down to Herbert's in San Marcos for lunch.

I went to Herbert's for the first time Tuesday night with the piano player and his girlfriend. I hadn't seen them in ages and ages. It was fun. I like him so much, but he does tell some long meandering stories that really don't mean much to me. He did tell about playing Desperado with Clint Black on my new boss's 50th birthday party on a yacht with Jimmy Buffet and many other present, which was a cool story. We had a good dinner at Herbert's (amidst the scraping chairs) and he texted George Strait while we ate, mainly to show that he could, I think, and George texted back that he used to live across the street from Herbert's when he was in college. We also went over to the River Pub and to Cheatham. JMM was good an knowing everyone and tipping well and buying beers for people. I told him he should become mayor. He also handed out free passes to hit balls at his driving range. His girlfriend confided to me that she hopes this is the year he asks her to marry him. I'm SO glad I never had to go through that sort of hopefulness. Not that I didn't dream about men asking me to marry them, but I never had a boyfriend that I truly expected that we were close enough that they would.

The work week was interesting. I didn't work at all on Tuesday because they didn't have my log-in ready. They did Wednesday so I worked each day some, rearranging the music a little bit and figuring out the clocks and how things work. I guess this week I'll seriously get into making some changes on the country formats. The girl that does the Modern Country and the Rock formats I'm taking over is leaving the job on June 4. I'm sure I won't really do anything with hers until she is gone.

I was sad to find out this week, too, that my friend from my CC days, Ellen, is leaving! I've done work for her at this new job and was looking forward to having lunches and being closer friends again, but she is moving home to Virginia. I don't know all of her reasoning, but it is clear she is disillusioned with this company, which is alarming, given that I am just starting there. But, again, a job is a job. If I get laid off in a year, I'd get unemployment again, I suppose. The company is going through some major restructuring and that is why my friend Alan got fired a week or so ago. It is weird because he got fired, I got hired, and I'm using his office (which was also my old studio when we both worked there before). Small circular world. Ellen is mad because the company is building a new building downtown and we're supposed to move in September. I haven't heard that news from anyone else. She doesn't want to work in a cubicle. I've worked in cubicles. I think I could live with it.

This sort of was a good week to start the new job with M&M out of town, but I have let some things slide with her work and I need to catch up a bit today on advances. I did get both bands playing at the Hyatt paid. I was geared up to drive out there Friday night to pay one band because I hadn't heard back from the manager, but he finally called Friday afternoon and he lives just around the corner! Walking distance even. He came by and got the check. Hooray. I mailed the other check so I don't have to go out there tonight unless I just want to. I did hear about a HOT check that M&M paid another artist 2 weeks ago. How can she do that? I deposited money into her account this week, so I hope the checks I just put out will all clear.

I did talk to her a few times. She finally appears to be letting go and just enjoying her trip instead of worrying about work, which is good since she isn't here to fix anything. I didn't realize they were going to see Clapton at ALL of his shows there. Unreal. I love some Clapton, but I don't think I could take six shows in a row.

Friday night B! was in town and we went for wine at a new wine bar on S. Lamar and talked for 4 hours. It was a good place because there were no waiters bothering us or needing a tip and we could just sit and visit. She seems well and happy, except that her 14-year-old nephew had just had his second arrest for possession.

I've been out 4 of the 5 nights this week. That's a bunch. I'd better stay in tonight. Last night I went to see Mark play with Jackie Bristow, a sweet girl from New Zealand. He went on to play another gig with Shinyribs (of which I assume he is now a member) and I stayed to see Smokin' Joe at the Saxon. They were great. I have forgotten what good Texas blues sounds like!

Now I need to get down to business on this day. Lots to be done. Lots of stuff that I want to have accomplished, although actually doing it is harder to do.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland