Wednesday, May. 23, 2007 10:56 am

Woozy week

We have a screened in back porch in the process and it should be finished tomorrow! That is exciting. I look forward to coffee and kitties outside.

I was up early yesterday to take Nathan to have his teeth cleaned. Poor dopey kitty. He's fine now. I'm not rested back up yet.

I also had lunch yesterday with a client at a new place: Patsy's. Great place and great food. The girl we ate with was weird, though. I believe that people have their "place" in this world. For some men, their place was high school quarterback and they always refer back to those as their glory days and today doesn't live up to then. When I was in sales, I didn't like being in sales and I always made sure people knew that I had once been a d.j. and, therefore, "cool." I think we are all happier, healthier people if TODAY is our DAY. If now is the best time in our lives and we have that contentment. This girl did not have that. She was a constant name-dropper ("I've met Yoko Ono.") and made lots and lots of references to her life in New York and working for the Village Voice, etc. It was strange. She also made the gaffe that I hate: She assumed I was of the same political persuasion she was. I don't care WHAT political persuasion you are, don't automatically assume I am of the same. Usually I feel the opposite of whatever you are, no matter what. I am so all-over-the-board in politics you and I can't possibly be just alike, so don't assume that I want to put down and joke about either Hillary Clinton OR Dick Cheney.

I am dragging this week, but it is my own fault. Sunday night I went to Antone's to join the new Blues Society. I only planned on staying a while, but stayed until the end. Ran into people I knew, Mark was there and working backstage, good music, etc. So I stayed. Then Monday I went back again for a benefit for a Texas musician that was killed by a drunk driver. It was certainly a more somber mood. I didn't plan to stay until the end (again), but when everyone on the bill is a friend or someone you work with, I felt the obligation to stay and see them all. The last duo was pointless and I could have left before them, but their record guy and their PR person were there and I stayed for them.

I am working my ass off at work right now, too, trying to get this Top 500 in place for the weekend. I knew I needed to get logs through next Wednesday done since I will be out on Monday and Tuesday, so I was working toward that... then I realized that the radiothon follows on Thursday and Friday and I won't be at work so I needed to have logs through the NEXT Monday in order to really be set. I have just about all of that done, except the countdown because I'm waiting on the final list. I have to have it today or we are in deep deep shit.

Last night I worked late and then came home and watched Sopranos and Entourage and Idol. Idol is almost over. I call it for Jordin. She will win.

I hope we still have some people at our show tonight. Idol usually hurts us a lot. We'll see.

The boss still hasn't really met with me this week, but we have talked a couple of times. Now he wants interviews to be pre-recorded. What a bother!! That is SO much more work than having someone on live. I will try it though. I've got a guy coming in tomorrow to do an interview that will air on Friday. I think it will change the whole dynamic. We'll see.

I have been feeling so woozy and dizzy lately. I know a lot of it is just lack of food and sleep and being in the same position for hours (quilting or computing). I was so starved on Monday night that I got a hamburger on the way to the show. Yesterday was better since I had the big lunch at the new restaurant, but by 9 or 10 last night I was cross-eyed. I really need a vacation. I need time off with NO obligations whatsoever... time to be away from the mess at the house, away from people, and certainly away from the radio. I don't know when I'll find that time. I think I will turn in a request for the week of July 4 today. I may not get it, but I will turn it in. Wait! Be positive! Of course I will get it and we'll be able to have a lovely vacation that week! That will be a great break in my summer!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland