Monday, May. 22, 2006 11:42 am

Weekend

My weekend was very short. I worked all day long on Saturday which made that night feel like a Friday night and not Saturday. I was confused all weekend long. One advantage of working on a Saturday is that I could finish up my radio shows for Virginia while I was on the air and get that accomplished simultaneously with my show. Multi-tasking, I live for it.

I had a very frustrating remote Saturday morning. Many little things going wrong that frustrated me and forced me to take a Xanax. My engineer and crew overslept and were very late, which gave us a late start. The line didn't have return where I could hear the station on our first break. The second one the equipment dropped the line and we weren't there. I went to a landline phone and told the jock specifically that this would be on the phone, not the remote equipment, and he still goofed it up. The salespeople were weird, the finance guy that I liked had been fired, the staff swarmed in and ate all our barbeque sandwiches and I didn't get lunch. It was lousy.

I didn't even get lunch on the way to the station. Tried to drive through a Whataburger to get something and it was so slow and crowded I gave up. I had a chocolate covered Payday for lunch at the station (yum! those are good!) and waited until dinner to eat.

Friday night was an interesting night. B! is back in town and it is so nice to see her. I realize when I'm around her how I just don't have any girlfriends anymore. I miss her and I miss "them". The ones that are still here are distant and involved and we just don't ever get to keep up and hang out. I am going to breakfast this week with Kitty and that will be a nice catch-up. I haven't seen her since SXSW week.

So B! came over for dinner Friday night. Yes! I entertained. I thought Mark was pretty cool about it all that morning, but he was back to normal that evening when I got home. He had edged and mowed and watered and moved plants around and scrubbed toilets and rearranged the house and lit candles and ordered me to vacuum. He just doesn't get that she loves me no matter what. And I told him that her brother (who ended up not coming) would only look down upon us for having the air conditioner on because of his environmentalist stance and we didn't need to worry about cat hair and such. But, the house was spotless and the toilet seat got tightened, which I've asked for for three months, so it was all good.

I cooked chicken and vegetables and corn on the grill and scalloped potatoes in the oven. It was delicious. But the sad part of the night was that Mark suggested I open the nice bottle of wine he had brought home from a Fredericksburg winery a while back. He had sampled some there and thought it was excellent. It was expensive, too. So, finally a special occasion. I reached in the cabinet and was pulling it out when it slipped from my fingers and broke all over the kitchen floor. Bad enough to have glass and red wine all over my floor, but to have $30 worth of good wine all over my floor just broke my heart! He was mad and I was sad. We had to drink cheap wine instead. B! just drank copious amounts of Diet Coke so she wasn't sad.

She and I sat and visited and visited for hours. Finally at one point she told me she had news. She tells me that this boy that broke up with her a few weeks ago (when she called me and sobbed and sobbed) is coming to town in ten days and will drive back with her. Apparently they are "on" again. I am just not happy about this. I want her to be happy, but I am still angry at him whether she is or not. He apparently sent an email with all the right things, etc., but I still wish she had said, "I'm not ready to let you come back just yet... wait until after I'm back..." or something. Put him off a little. Every time he wants to come back into her life and her bed she just says Yes. I want to be honest with her and tell her how I feel, but I'm afraid that will make her keep things secret and drive a wedge between us. I told her that I didn't like him and I don't want her to be unhappy again. She hadn't told her brother yet... It will be interesting to hear what he says since he was on the phone with her that night and arranging an ice cream delivery and nice things like that.

Yesterday, Sunday, was a lazy day. I kept the curtain closed and slept past noon. I haven't done that in years, literally. Then took a nap later in the day, too. Sat in the garage while Mark worked on drums and I read the paper and drank coffee. Then I cooked hamburgers on the grill. Then I cleaned the kitchen and that turned into an all afternoon project. The kitchen is cleaner, that's for sure. Still didn't mop like I need to because of the wine, but it is better. Last night I did buckle down and found some really good questions for "Let's Learn..."

Oh... and to catch up. I had a big talk with the boss last Thurday about his plans/desire to have a big countdown over this holiday weekend. I wrote him an email later about how it might not be such a good idea, but I haven't heard back from him yet. I'm afraid it would be a big clusterfuck and I won't be in town to do anything about it. And I think it will be too "old" and will drive away our younger listeners through the holiday (and maybe that is the idea??). I will see him today and sure hope he agrees.

And Cotton. That boy. A classic country artist died yesterday. Cotton rushes to the station to put some of his music on in the night show. Well.... this music will be on the air with no context... No live jock to say "Billy Walker died today, here's his song..." and his songs are not recognizable by our 18-55 year old audience AT ALL. Buck Owens, sure. The biggies, okay. But, sorry, Billy Walker had his time and place and we can feature him on the oldies shows, but I thought this was just stupid. All done by the time I heard about it, of course, and I'm not the boss so I'll just ignore it.

No wonder I'm again reluctant to get dressed and get up there...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland