Wednesday, May. 02, 2007 11:54 am

Back at it

I did a long full entry on Monday about the weekend and then lightning and a storm knocked the electricity off and I never got back to it again.

It was a long busy weekend with a long trip to Dallas. I thought I never would get there Saturday afternoon. I did and found my family at my Mom's new place. We visited and went to dinner. The youngest nephew was in DC with his band and he called. He wanted to talk to each one of us. I think he was a little homesick and wishing he was with us, though he had a wonderful time. After dinner I stayed and visited some more with my Mother and we were reading her old diaries to check things. It was fun. I spent the night at my sister's.

Sunday I had a lovely brunch with Mom at her new place. Then we all went up to the house and sorted through drawers and cabinets to see what we needed to take with us and what could go into the estate sale. About 30 years of Reader's Digest Condensed Books can certainly go into the estate sale without a problem. Musty smell and all.

My friend, the realtor, came over to the house, too, to get some preliminary paperwork filled out. I'm glad we could turn this over to her. I forget that she is a realtor... I'm glad she reminded me. She sold our house eight years ago and made it all pretty simple, I hope she can do the same for Mom.

Before the day ended, I found out that my mother-in-law's husband was in the hospital in Richardson. He had had trouble walking and functioning on Friday so they went to the doctor and he was put in the hospital for low heart rate. Yesterday they put in a pacemaker. I went by to see him on Sunday evening in my grubby state. He looked normal, just in bed. He will be 94 in June. I hope he is okay. He is a sweet lovely man and he takes care of Mark's mother very well. I don't know what she would do without him. She would be fine, I expect, I just know that she would rely on us more than she does now and I don't want that. I'm selfish. And I know I would bear the guilt when Mark doesn't do anything for her.

I got back super late on Sunday night. Mark had gone out to see music so I went to bed, a little aggravated at him. I think I am still tired and recovering from the trip.

Monday night I went to the grocery and loaded us up again. I came home and made a great pasta salad from a cousin's recipe. I worked on the quilt, but ended up ripping out everything I did. It is SO difficult for one person to get the front and back and batting all together evenly and square. Frustrating.

Yesterday I wanted to go see Asleep at the Wheel at Threadgill's, but I didn't. I wanted Mark to go with me, but he was busy and I didn't really want to go alone and pay the big cover and then be miserable, so I opted out. I came home and made some great cheese enchiladas with my aunt's recipe and worked on the quilt some more. Mark came home super late, but we stayed up and watched Idol (rock night with Bon Jovi songs.... better than I expected it to be)and we watched the Sopranos. It was good (and only five left! augh!).

Monday I got up and had a dentist appointment early. Yesterday slept until 1045 and then dashed downtown to have lunch with Shalonn from the old days. We went to Hut's and that was great. But today I didn't have to get up and rush out and I love that. I have been here for a while, just computing. I need to go eat something while there is plenty of food at the house and then get on up to work. Tonight is Sunny on the series and we are worried about rain. We've only had one cancellation for rain that I can recall and a couple that ended a little early. I hope we get a good full night tonight. It will be a smaller crowd and I think that will be more enjoyable for me, for sure.

Over and over in my head I think I need to start my profiles of my listeners. I could add Ricky to the list. He is a blind mariachi player that has called me for years now. I have met him several times at events we have. He called me Monday to invite me to his birthday party last night. Come on people, be realistic.... no matter how well you think you know me from hearing me and visiting with me a few times in person, do you think I will come to your birthday party? Of course, I have this horrible fear that he sat at his birthday party with food and a cake and no one at all is there. But then, if that were the case, I would hate to be there even MORE because then I would certainly be forced to stay. But I am not going to go to the birthday party of someone I hardly know, and where I am most certainly not going to know ANYONE else either. I am here to be your friend on the radio, not in the real world. I know that only leads to disappointment all the way around.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland