Tuesday, May. 02, 2006 11:29 am

Moving slowly

I feel kind of like a lump this morning. Not necessarily hung over, just tired from a late night out. I went to Cory's birthday thing that was just pathetic. They "roasted" him, but it was really lame, hard to hear, unfunny. A couple had prepared, others just told inside jokes that weren't really funny. And whoever the host guy was, he thought he had to tell every story he ever knew. He even interrupted Cory as he was saying his thank yous (and roasting back, like the honoree is supposed to do) to say "oh and here's one I forgot." Lame. I did enjoy seeing my new friend Sam and Walt and Ryan and some others. My sweet old boss was there, too, and I hadn't seen him since Christmas. It was nice to see him and we made plans again for lunch on Thursday. I had to cancel on him last week when I left town.

I left there and went to the east side and enjoyed that gig for a while. There was a wild woman dancing and gyrating and whooping and really making herself the center of attention. Obviously deranged or high or something. A woman near me commented (and it took a while for me to get what she was saying) said that she (the woman talking) had worked at the State hospital for more than thirty years and she was certain that this young woman was a patient there. Poor thing. I hope she made it home okay.

I was also worried at the end of the night for my acupuncturist's ex-husband who was there. He never did see me, but I was watching him. He seemed acutely interested in the young woman dancing and followed her around like a puppy dog, switching chairs so he could watch her better or walking past her so he could converse for a minute. I must have seem him change chairs or move to a new location 20 times. Very odd behavior. I was watching him to see how drunk he was and how unsteady. I was a little worries about how he was going to get home. The last hour or so he appeared to not be drinking and he was eating food and he did seem to be less unsteady. I was going to talk to him before he left and see how he was to drive, but he got out ahead of me and disappeared. I hope he (and others on the streets of the city) made it home okay.

This morning Mark is off early to a Lyle Lovett gig. That will be cool.

And I got email from my mother that Dad said the doctor might let him go home from the hospital today. I don't know if that is possible, but I'll call her in a bit. They have gotten his infection more under control (but they still dont' seem to know what is infected), but I think he is awfully weak. Of course, that doesn't mean he requires a hospital stay. Maybe a nursing facility is in order for a while. I'm sure he would pitch a fit over that, but I would be in favor of it for my mother's sanity.

I'm going to get up and get moving. I AM going to clean out the refrigerator and make a grocery list.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland