2000-05-02 13:25:42

Decoration Day

Two days of rain. What a wonderful thing. When I was a kid and we would visit my aunt's family in Austin it always seemed rainy and foggy and wet so that is how I picture Austin. It hasn't been that way 99% of the time since we've lived here so this is a nice memory when it rains.

I'm trying to cut back on sugars, dairy and yeast producing foods. So what do I do this morning? Shovel in cinnamon rolls that are loaded with maple icing and aren't even all that good. Finally though, they are gone and maybe I'll move on to eggs and a good sandwich later in the day. No caffeine in days, I'm doing pretty good there. I have cinnamon roll icing on the keys of the computer and on the mouse button. Not a good thing.

I've got to get ready this week for Decoration Day. It's a Southern thing. We go to my husband's family cemetery up near Mount Pleasant, Texas, each May and "decorate" the graves and have a nice family reunion and lunch. It is more than just family, it is for anyone has relatives or friends in that cemetery. I went to it for the first time on our honeymoon (whoo-hoo, we know how to be romantic, don't we?). Mark won't be going this year since he will be out on tour but I want to be there since it will be the first Decoration Day since his granddad died in February. This will probably be the cemetery I'll be buried in so I feel an obligation to these people. Plus, it is a nice nice day. I'm learning more and more of the family and friends and I know I'll know a lot more this year that I met at the funeral.

I'll cap off the weekend with a visit to Mark's Aunt Mary. She's a sweet sweet old widow that has every known flower in her front yard. She is spry and active and will grab that shovel and dig up anything I want to take home. Most of what I have taken from her before remains up at my old home in Dallas so I want to go this year and get a restock for this house. I hope she has some things that will go well in a shady yard.

Lordy, I need to go to work. Bad thing about this flexible schedule is that I flex it until it breaks sometime. I've got to get ahead or I won't be going to Decoration Day!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland