Monday, May. 21, 2007 11:59 am

Blues Society

I need to get going to work so I can get started on this busy busy week. I am up and have coffee (and I'm showered and dressed, which is a good start), but I am groggy from the late night at Antone's.

Last night was the first event of the Austin Blues Society. It was a great night. I really only planned to go and join and enjoy a few acts, but ended up staying until the end. How can you leave when Delbert McClinton is going to join Marcia Ball on stage, or my friend Pat is going to play with Jimmie Vaughn again? It was fun. The organizers had put me on the list and gave me backstage access (which they certainly didn't have to do) and Mark was there playing and working and introducing me to people, so it was fun. And my new friend John with the dimples, we'll have to just call him Dimples, was there. He is dating one of our saleswomen so I have met him several times and he is just the nicest, cutest, thing. Probably the kind of charmer that could rip off vulnerable women, but I don't get that from him (which might be because of his charm!). Well, I don't have to worry about him stealing my money or heart, so I'll continue to think he is cute. He works for Ruthie so he was there for her.

I worked my FINGERS off yesterday on the quilt. I sat down during the middle of a lovely Austin afternoon and stayed inside watching Dr. Phil, Boston Legal, and Grey's Anatomy, and got this quilt a lot closer to being finished. A LOT closer. I think I will go buy some more material today (I think my material supplies SHRINK in storage) for the binding and maybe I can get it bound Thursday night? Or Friday? I do have a couple of "free" nights before I have to go to Dallas, so maybe it is still possible. I won't give up. I did do the piecing the corners and have the entire quilt in a somewhat static place, ready to be tacked a little bit more and then bound.

The exciting event of our day is the porch is in the process of being built! I'm excited! I hope we use it to sit out and drink coffee, have a nice dinner, enjoy a book... Without mosquitos and creepy things, we really might to that. I know it will be hot, but the fan should help. I guess the grill will move to the other end of the patio now, but will still be accessible. I love our house!

Today is the benefit (again at Antone's) for Buck Jones. I am looking foward to hanging with the musicians there. They are my favorites, that's for sure. Again, I don't plan on being there all night, but I probably will be. Who could I leave before?? I know a lot of people will be there to be seen (including me!) and I want to see them.

My little cousin got married this weekend... I am eager to hear the scoop about the wedding.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland