Sunday, May. 18, 2008 2:33 pm

Graduation

I'm glad I didn't commit to going to San Antonio with B!B and her brother on Friday night. I had a rough day. I went to work for M&M and she was still very sick. I went out on errands for her first. How lovely to have a grocery and drug store within walking distance of your house. That is so nice. I walked and got her drugs and Popsicles and chocolate cake -- all the things you need to feel better. Then I drove way up north to pay her mortgage assessment something and then into West Campus (through a zillion downed branches from the storm) to pay her doctor and get some more samples, and then downtown to mail some checks to her bank in Illinois. Crazy bad traffic with it being Friday AND being graduation weekend at UT. Very difficult. Finally got back to her place about 3:30 and I had lots to still get done. She was upstairs sick in bed, so I worked quietly until 6 pm and got a lot of things in order, I hope.

By the time I got home, Mark was already home and working on his computer. He had been trying to do some drum ordering (his new responsibility) at the Lab, but it was too busy up there so he came home where he could work quietly. I went off for a nap. When I got up a couple of hours later, he was still at it and stayed at it (except for dinner and watching "The Office" season finale) until 2 a.m. or so when I went to bed.

Well, I went to bed, but I kept popping up and remembering things. I knew I had to be up at 6 a.m. and that made it harder to go to sleep. I may have finally dropped off before 4 a.m., but then was awake before 6.

Drove up to Waco for my cousin's graduation and conferring of his Ph.D.! How impressive is that. We were all very pleased and excited (as if we/I had anything to do with it!). Maybe we are so proud because we share genetics! The graduation ceremony was COLD and long and boring, but it had some moments. I cried when a set of parents received a degree for their daughter posthumously. How incredibly sad. Several kids were commissioned to the Air Force or Army. Lots of amazing brains with 4.0 grade averages. How do you do that? Unbelievable dedication, I suppose. I sure didn't have that in college.

It all ended and we went to a bed and breakfast in MacGregor, Texas, for a nice lunch with the family and Trent's mentor professor, too. It was nice. My sweet cousin even gave US presents for having come (totally unnecessary). I felt "cheap" with my cash gift to Trent being half of my sister's and most others, but, hey, I'm incredibly broke right now, too. I am sure he understands, but I wish I could be more generous and be able to give.

Driving back from there I enjoyed the scenery in the countryside for the first 30 miles (before rejoining the highway). I also drove around the Mary Hardin-Baylor campus where he will probably teach in the fall. Beautiful place.

I finally found the Corn Hill Cemetery, too, where I have baby twin cousins that died 100 years ago buried. A father-in-law of my great-great grandfather is also supposed to be there, but I couldn't find his grave. The cemetery was out in the country, but it is being surrounded by housing rapidly now. I couldn't take pictures because my camera went kaput at the ceremony. I will have to go back by. It is right by the highway, so not too inconvenient when driving to Dallas.

I stopped at a truck and bought tomatoes and squash and potatoes and peas yesterday, too. Yum. I was going to cook them for lunch today, but I got up too late and Mark had to go to work, so I tabled that idea and hope I can have them tomorrow evening.

I was falling asleep on the drive home and was so glad to be here finally. Mark was still here, just awaking from a nap, and was about to go to San Marcos for the Western Swing thing. I debated whether to buck up and go with him, but I knew I would be falling asleep in my tracks and dragging him down, so I stayed and he went. I slept for three hours and then sat the rest of the evening. I didn't even email. He had a good time and got a good visit in with drummer Casey Dickinson (?). Casey and his wife are coming by tomorrow morning so I am working on the house all day today.

I am not feeling anxiety today so much as just scattered and don't quite know where to begin. I have made a list, which is always a good start, and laundry is going. I just need to set some time limits and forge ahead. I should go mow, that always gives me a feeling of having done something.

I also fed the kitty TC. He is so sweet. He's been coming by for so long now, but he is becoming more and more "ours." He came to the back window one day and looked up at Mark and said, "Meow." So Mark fed him and he ate. He is doing that more frequently now. I saw him drinking dirty rainwater earlier so I put out some wet food for him and he enjoyed that immensely (the broth part at least). Sweet baby. I don't think he is a stray, he belongs somewhere. If I ever catch him I will put a collar on him saying "Who owns me?" He should be better protected.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland