Thursday, May. 18, 2006 12:23 pm

Another ER visit

Man, if I don't write in this thing, things happen! Maybe I can keep bad things at bay by obsessively writing moment by moment...

Dad went back to the ER three hours after I wrote on Tuesday. My sister called just as I went on the air to let me know. My voice has been bad this week and I know it must be from stress. It was worse Tuesday than any day. He went back because his stomach tube wasn't working and the home health care nurse said it looked bad. They had to wait hours at the ER, but they finally got his surgery doctor (that we have grown to dislike intensely) in there and he just easily popped it out. So now the home nurse will take care of that wound along with the incision and he should be better. He was home by 8 pm. Hooray.

Tuesday night I did some grillin'! It is better if I don't get on phones calls while I'm doing it, I think. I overdid the hamburger, but I cooked corn and it was fabulous. We really enjoyed a great meal. Hamburger, corn, fresh tomatoes, some red onion, carrots. Yum. I also need some of those metal grill tools. I'm probably going to melt my plastic ones at the rate I'm going.

Yesterday I had Radney on my show in prep for his first appearance at our series. He was very very good, as he always is. While he was with me, Big and Rich popped in to say hi. Isn't that bizarre? They were on a radio tour and came to see our neighbor, but since they knew Radney they came in to say hello. I was maybe less impressed with them in person than I have been seeing them on TV. Very very weird guys. I talked to John about his being from my hometown and that didn't even spark an interest or feigned interest. Big was even worse and weirder. When I heard they were in the building I thought, Gee, I'll probably like them when I meet them and I will have to consider their music more seriously. Nah-uh, Not a gonna happen!! Weird weird weird.

The show last night was good, but I wasn't in the mood. I hate that when it is a great artist that I love but I just want to be at home. Good crowd, nice weather, good night all the way around...except that their sound guy/road manager was a germophobe and freaked out when I used R's mic. He said "Now I'm going to have to disinfect it tonight!" I wonder if it is he or R that freaks out, but I remembered the next time and used another mic so he wouldn't freak again.

I visited a good bit with KC that used to be on radio and now has gone solely to TV. He was nice. I learned a lot about him while we visited. I had no idea he was older than me, for one thing. He's been here 20 something years, too. That's a pretty amazing run in Austin radio.

We watched American Idol late last night when Mark finally got home from his gig and a trip by the Continental to see Jon Dee. No more Elliott. I knew it was his time, but I liked him a lot and think he has grown more than anyone in the series. I hope something comes for him. I think Taylor is the obvious winner next week. I would be totally floored if he weren't.

It is already 1230 and again I am in my pajamas and not eager to get to work. I told Mark he's going to have to start opening these curtains in the morning when he gets up. My body clock is just not waking up without light to tell it that it is daytime. I was asleep again until almost eleven. And I had some wild wild dreams. I wrote them all down as much as I could remember and will examine them again later. Seems like I'm trying to rescue my inner child... or my dad? Who knows.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland