May 19, 2003 2:12 am

Weekend of Mark's last Antone's

Just got in from Mark's last Antone's gig with Guy. I remember their first gig back at Antone's after Europe and how tight and amazing they were. This gig didn't have that feel at all. It had more of an air of desperation or resignation or exasperation or something. It just didn't have "it." The whole first set seemed to lag a little. Not much of a crowd there, a bad vibe. They finally got a little energy going with some of Guy's better songs from "Can You Live Without" (is that the name of the album? I think so) like Calico Girl and Children of Jack. The second set had more of the old Guy feel to it and was clicking along pretty good until Carolyn joined in. Then it degenerated into a blues jam and I think by the time they got done the audience felt pretty alientated and everyone was ready to go home. Not how I pictured Mark's last gig (that I see, anyway), but maybe an indication that it was time to be over.

I enjoyed sharing the night with Stephanie and Michele and B!

We had a good Sunday together. This one felt a little more like a couple activity rather than Mark doing what I wanted to do for an afternoon. We ate lunch with B! at the Kerbey Lane on Guadalupe and then we walked down the Drag and bought me some funky shoes and shades and looked in store windows. It was fun. We came on home for Mark to get some drum stuff done at that point, which was fine.

Nathan has been AWOL since yesterday morning, but he was in the middle of the street at 2 a.m. when I came along minutes ago. He just sat there until I was practically on top of him and then he ran. I went on home and parked and walked back to find him. When I finally found him down the street and he heard my voice he came running. He was very very hungry, but, of course, now that he is fed, he wants to go back out and catting around again. Not a chance. He is without collar and tags right now and I forgot that when I let him out yesterday. We need to get him identified again before he is out on the streets again.

Yesterday was a long hot day with two remotes in the sun and then I went to a benefit concert thing at Carlos and Charlie's in the sun. Again, a revelation I have had previously while at C & C's... I am not, nor will I ever be, a "lake" person. I just don't get that swimsuit wearing/beer drinking/overtanned lifestyle that they lead. I stayed a polite amount of time to hear my friend Anne's boyfriend's band and then I dashed for home. I had had enough sun for one day.

Tomorrow is yet another remote (I've lost track of how many this has been, but I think I've passes the half-way point of the month with a total of 13) and regular work. I think the computers at work are still on the fritz, but I hope they have gotten them fixed by now.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland