Saturday, May. 17, 2014 11:15 am

Off to Cherokee

I guess I need a real good update. I didn't even look to see when I wrote last. If I didn't write yet about the wedding, it was beautiful. I had so much fun and it was such a beautiful day in EVERY way. The visual, the music, the people, the weather, the LOVE in the air. I am very happy for my nephew and his bride and hope they have many many wonderful happy days ahead of them. I am so proud of all they have accomplished and all that is ahead of them. She got her Au.D. (doctor of audiology) five days later and they both continued their jobs right after the wedding, so they are beginning their future with a bang.

I have been super sick this week. We all say we don't have time to be sick and I was feeling that way, too, but once it hit, I couldn't do much more than sleep away the day. I wanted to computer or watch TV or read, but that was all beyond me. I slept and slept, or just laid there. I went back to work the next day, but was still swimmy headed and washed out. Friday was better, but still not great. Today is iffy, too.

But, despite not feeling 100%, I am going to a music festival to join Mark. I wouldn't do it if I were going to have to use public port-a-potties and be in the sun all afternoon, but I will have access to his little camper for a bathroom and I can crawl off and sleep there is I am feeling bad. I hope I am feeling much better by the time I get there and I can enjoy the beautiful scenery and vibe that is Cherokee.

This week the author Ann Lamott wrote about not denying your creativity because of naysayers or critics that want to stifle you. And not avoiding swimming because of white jiggly thighs, etc. I keep going over her thoughts in my head and trying to let it free me from all my fears and inhibitions that hold me back each and every day. I am facing a lot of this with this big family book that is coming out. I know I will get wonderful praise, but there will be critics and mistakes pointed out and I know those will cut me hard. I don't want them to, but they always do! I read comments on threads online and think "God, what an idiot" and dismiss stupid criticisms about other people's work without a thought.... why can't I take that same dismissive attitude when someone is critical of me?

Before || After
Older Entries
Wedding #2 - Friday, Jun. 27, 2014
June is here - Sunday, Jun. 08, 2014
Off to Cherokee - Saturday, May. 17, 2014
Wedding! Graduation! - Sunday, May. 11, 2014
Weekend recap - Monday, Apr. 21, 2014
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland