Wednesday, May. 16, 2007 10:31 am

The Letter

My appointment alarm is going off in the living room. I will learn if it stops on its own or goes on and on and on. Well, now it has stopped. It has a pleasant hippie-massage-table vibe to it, so it wasn't unpleasant at all. It is reminding me of a luncheon in less than an hour with the hospital people. I am hoping I remember their names. I made a bad mistake in this radio business when I began. At big yearly events, I meet people and quickly forget their names once the event is over. I didn't realize (and apparently still have not learned) that I need to file those names away for the next year. Oh, after five (six?) years with this bunch I have learned the two main ones, but the challenge is that a lot of the supporting characters change and change roles and I have to relearn what they do. I became pretty good friends with some of them, but they have faded away. One cute girl and her husband used to come to the music series every week, but I haven't seen them in a long time. Another lived WAY up north in Leander, but we went to the Spoke one night and really enjoyed each other. She and I even went to lunch once, now that I think about it. Nice people with a good cause.

This has been a real high and low week. The party Monday night at Sam's house was a real real high. Literally and quite figuratively. He lives high on a mountain in Austin. Not many people can really say that, but he is up there with the radio towers. Fabulous house, fabulous vibe, interesting people, great food. It was everything I've been longing for, yet leaves me longing for more. sigh.

I heard that my boss got into some trouble Monday. He is out of the office this week, it appears, and I don't know why (did he get to go to Vegas to the awards? surely not). At a big meeting of salespeople a man was not prepared for a presentation he was supposed to make. He joked about it and said "Well, I wasn't here on Friday!" and the big boss said, "Well, your boss was" (meaning the Hamster). She was not happy. I don't know how that turned out for him. He was out of the office that day, too. He said we would meet Thursday, tomorrow, but I'll believe that when I see it. He sends me these urgent "we need to do this or that" emails and then doesn't come find me or see me and I have to email him and he says "okay, on thursday" and then he won't be available then, either. So the music sits there and molders some more and I stew in my own juices.

I am really brought down this morning by a letter from my best friend's boyfriend. She told me weeks ago that they were back together. I hadn't heard any more about it, but at the time she told him that he needed to apologize to her friends and write us letters if they were to continue. That was six weeks ago, so I wondered if they weren't together anymore or if he just weren't going to do it, or what. Well, today I got "the letter." She is arriving today for a two or three weeks stay like she did last year (and I met him and didn't like him) so I fully expect he is coming again. But the letter doesn't really tell me anything or make it better to me. It still is very Mike-centered and more about him than about the relationship. I keep trying to put Mark or someone else I know in his shoes and think about what they would say. I think they would tell me what a wonderful woman my friend is and how much better his life is with her in is, etc. This one is more about him and the answers he's seeking in his life and how he realizes now that she is a gift from God (but he just doesn't say even that with the right enthusiasm). I also feel like this was a letter he wrote and then copied it to a number of us. I would have preferred an apology to ME about him being such a drip when I met him last year and how he looks forward to making it up to ME in person as well as to her. That's another thing, there isn't anything about how he plans to make this up to her. I don't quite know what to think of this or how it will be when she is here. She and I have gone through some other periods in our life where we drift apart for a while and we may be entering one of those phases. I wouldn't "shun" her because of this guy, but I really wouldn't go visit her and become a part of their lives either. If he comes this time I think I will have to have them over to the house in the evening for just wine or dessert or something and see what Mark thinks of him. I would love for this guy to win me over to thinking that he is the best thing in the world for her, but I just can't see that happening.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland