Tuesday, May. 16, 2006 12:23 pm

Writer's Group

I did go to the writer's group last night and they were a nice, normal bunch of people, for the most part. It might be interesting. I don't know. It threw my whole evening out of whack and I don't want that to happen every two weeks. I will go again on Memorial Day and see how it goes. At least that night I can skip the club if I want to because Mark will be out of town.

But I went to the group and then I was in that in-between period of time. Too early to go on to the club, too late (and too much traffic) to get home and then turn around and come back. I knew if I got home I'd probably stay there. So I opted off of the highway and ate at a new Mexican restaurant (old, but new to me). Sure, that will solve all my problems, more Mexican food. And it wasn't even all that good. I thought that would kill some time, but I was through with my meal in less than 30 minutes. So I went on over to the club and read on my book while the band set up. Then when things got going I was alone and felt disassociated from it all. I knew people there, but had no one sitting with me and that is disheartening. I finally left and came on home and went to bed pretty early. I did get the mail all sorted through, too. That's been hanging over my head for a week.

Today Dad went back to radiation and that doctor still feels that he only had two weeks and a few treatments beyond that to go. Hooray. And no more chemo. And he agress that the stomach tube needs to come out and go away, but the surgeons office was full of idiots, my sister said, and couldn't even see Dad until next week.

She talked to them about moving to assisted living. My mother is all for it because she is tired of cooking and cleaning and taking care of Daddy all of the time. She has always been up for change. Daddy, however, says "You go into one of those places and you don't come out." Well, true. But, if he stays at his home he isn't going to come out alive either. He also wants his STUFF around him. I think we will still be able to let him have a lot of his stuff there and I think he will be happy. Maybe we need to take him on a tour of one of them.

So that is where that stands today.

I'm tired. I don't know why I'm so tired. I got a pretty good night's sleep. I'm too fat and that is some of it. I grilled me a piece of hamburger for lunch. With the grill maybe I'll want to do the Atkins diet. I doubt it. I'll still want buns and tortillas. I've got to find some magic formula.

And I'd better go to work.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland