Sunday, May. 15, 2005 12:52 pm

Meeting Mel

Yesterday I came home between another couple of appearances and found Mark at home taking a quick nap between his gigs. Great to have him home again.

I went out to Dripping Springs to the music festival out there. Much better location than last year when it was on the set of the Alamo. That was a cool venue, but hot and too open. This place was grassy and had trees and was very pleasant. I wish there had been more people that I knew to hang out with. I introed the Wheel and did get a long visit in with Dave and his wife Sherry. They are such cool people. I haven't seen her in a year, and have only seen him once or twice.

I can brag that I got to be on the bus with Ray Benson and Mel Tillis. I can say that but it wasn't quite as cool as it sounds. Dave took me onto the bus and Ray and Mel were engrossed in conversation to I felt like an outsider. It was nice to be in air conditioning for a bit.

I did get to intro Mel, too. He was a very nice man and has a huge band with backup singers and the works. I don't really like that Vegas style presentation. They could really play and perform, but I was tired and didn't stick around. My voice was shot after a day of talking way too loud to too many people. It is still shot today.

I'm dragging today after staying up too late last night watching Auto Focus with Greg Kinnear, the movie about Bob Crane's murder. Creepy. What a creepy life he led. Mark got in late, too. Then we were up way too early this morning with cats and phone calls and such.

This afternoon we're going to Kevin's wedding. That should be very interesting to see who got invited and who shows up. I hope to see my old boss there. I miss him so much and am hurt that he hasn't called me in ages. I know he is busy, but I thought we were better friends than this. We'll see.

And I am very high on the new CD from Robbie Fulks. I had heard his name in the alt-country circles, but thought he was more of the acoustic singer-songwriter kind of guy. Got his new CD this week and it is great traditional country, but not old-fashioned at all. Great combination of steel and fiddle and clever lyrics. I must have listened to it 15 times this week and I've made Mark listen to it, too. I am going to have to go back and gather up some of his old stuff, too, and discover what I should have found long ago.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland