Saturday, May. 15, 2004 12:00 pm

House changes

The last part of this week just flew by. Bruce's show was more than amazing. He drew the biggest crowd of the series so far and put on an excellent on-air hour and a great second hour, too. He sings so effortlessly and is so natural and centered. Kelly, too. She came and sang two songs with him and was beautiful and sweet. And she brought Dodie. Curly headed little 3-year-old.

Bruce was certainly the highlight of my week, both on my show and on the stage. Gary P came in and was the guest DJ on Thursday and I enjoyed that very much too and he brought some great tunes to play, but I don't relate or connect the same with Gary. I've known him for over ten years now and still don't quite get him as a person.

Last night B! and I went to Luckenbach. We keep answering the question from others as to "Why?" since it was not a big night out there and there was no real reason to go. She had never been to Luckenbach before and she's leaving soon, so I wanted to make sure she saw it. I didn't want it to be during the big bashes or a dance, although those are great fun. I like it fine when it is just people wandering around, a guitar playing, and people pitching washers. That's what we found, although it was after dark and chilly. I drank a beer, we sat and listened and soaked it in a bit and then went to eat in Fredericksburg, since we were so close and so hungry. Luckenbach may not have had the charm it has had for me for so many visits, but at least she has an inkling of the magic that lies there.

We went to the F'burg, but food was hard to find at that hour. We ended up at Chili's, which is, I guess, THE place to eat late night food in Fredericksburg. We were behind a large group of square dancers, which brought back many happy memories for me. My parents square danced every Friday night of my growing up years. Service was slow and food was moderate, but fun to continue the conversation. Long long road home and we were back in Austin by 1 a.m.

Mark did a cool thing to the house yesterday. We've been discussing the dilemma of our guest room. We have two "spare" bedrooms in the house. In one is Mark's drum collection and my piano and many cool music things. That's where Mark rehearses with bands sometimes (even though it is tiny) and it is dubbed the "music room." The other guest room has a nice window seat overlooking the flowers in the front yard, my desk and computer and little TV, a closet and bookshelves full of books and genealogy information and craft projects and paints, AND a futon couch that pulls out to be the guest bed. So the disadvantage is that, while we have guests, they are in my office and I can't do THIS... sit and write and email and surf. And the futon is very crowded and the room has to be cleaned and modified before and after every visit.

We had discussed this dilemma a lot and considered other possibilities to have a better situation for guests and me at the same time. I offered the possibility of selling my piano at one point, but Mark thoughtfully refused. I'm glad. I like my piano. What he ended up doing was moving the futon from the office/guest room to the music room and moving that monstrous piano (this isn't a small spinet like most people have anymore... this is a heavy upright that once worked hard in a Foursquare Gospel church) into my office. Now my office has more floor space and is more welcoming and I can sit down and play my piano easily, and the guests have more room for manuevering in the music room/guest room. I have lots of arranging to do today and tomorrow for the guest coming Monday, but I think this is going to be an ideal solution and open up the house for all sorts of possibilities!

Today I'm up late and being lazy and I need to head out to the boat place for a remote here in a bit and then to the big western swing conclave going on out at the set of the Alamo. But late tonight is free and tomorrow is free and I am going to enjoy the time off.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland