Saturday, May. 14, 2005 12:16 pm

Remote break

I am home between remotes and I am sweating... it is going to be a long hot summer. I'm remembering how hot it was last Memorial Day weekend when it hit 100 for the first time (and probably didn't hit it again until late August). God, it was unbearable. When it gets so hot so early we are just un-used to it.

The remote went well this morning. Lots of people there. It amazes me when people come to these things, even if that is my business to make them want to come. I mean, I can see that you might hear that a station is at a new restaurant or a new store and that interests you in going by and seeing what is going on and picking up a prize, but a new credit union? Just seems funny. But, for young families with kids that are not prosperous, I think the draw of free hotdogs and cokes and balloon animals counts for a lot.

I've got a kitty crawling all over this desk and the piles of paperwork. He needs some loving (or to be let outside, which isn't going to happen).

I went by the cafe last night to check out a new singer/songwriter. It is rare that I want to do that. Usually these new artists bug me so much I want to avoid them, but this kid intrigued me. His first single was very good and well produced. Then I saw he would be playing at the cafe so I thought I would drop by and get a taste of his stage presence and see if it equaled his talent. Then he emailed and called and wanted to come by the station. I emailed back and told him I would just see him and meet him at the cafe. His email was cute and clever without being pompous or naive. His call was pleasant without being overbearing. All that adds up to a lot. I went by and heard a few songs and he was really good and getting a great response from a large audience. He also had a great sound system, which shows he knows how to invest in himself. I think this one has some potential to be in the bigger leagues soon. We'll see. It is fun to find one like this among all the many many mediocre ones.

I got one CD yesterday that I almost threw across the room it was so bad. So poorly produced, sung, played... It was from North Carolina, too, so this idiot really has some money to throw away on postage to send CDs everywhere. At least I don't have to deal with him face to face.

Mark's been gone two nights but will be home tonight. I'm glad. It has been very quiet around here without him. I know the cats miss him, too. He is a lot more attentive to them than I am.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland