May 12, 2003 9:42 pm

Marriage problems

Mark and I had a mostly pleasant Sunday. We ate at Threadgill's and used my station trade to pay for it, which is a nice perq. We shopped a bit and he bought me a sweet little notebook for all my words of wisdom. And then we even went to a movie! I think it has been over 2 years since we've seen a movie at a theater together. That may be an exaggeration, but I can't think of what we've seen since. We saw Mighty Wind with Christopher Guest and all the Spinal Tap and Best in Show bunch. So fun. It was fun to see a movie with Mark. I never had a good boyfriend for going to movies...one that I could hold hands with or not be nervous around. I have been to so few movies with Mark it is a real treat.

Took a great evening nap yesterday and was just waking up and stirring around, getting ready to call and order a pizza, when the doorbell rang. Dammit. Mark, are you expecting company? Yes, he was. In comes a drum guy and his wife. I ended up having to talk to this dull wife for two hours while Mark talked drums. Let me just be tacky. She had uncombed hair, a torn t-shirt, and she was quite overweight and in shorts. She was entirely self-absorbed. I found out what she does for a living and where she's from, etc., but never did she find out anything about me at all. Boring.

I was starving by the time they left and I was able to order the pizza and get it here at 11 p.m. Mark didn't know the wife was coming, so I can't hold him responsible, but of course I do because that's what I do.

I had another remote this morning, but it was close by the house so didn't take a lot of effort to get to and I came back by the house before work.

I am becoming a marriage counselor . . . like I can help anyone when I can't help myself! My dear radio friend was on the phone today unloading on me about his marriage and the affair that he is having, except that the mistress broke up with him today and so he's terribly upset about that as well as his marriage. A real soap opera. And my sister is e-mailing tonight about their marriage, but it may be improving there now. I hope so. I'll probably spend half of my therapy session tomorrow talking about these marriages, but I guess that is also a way to learn about my own.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland