Monday, May. 01, 2006 11:35 am

A new month begins...

I'm doing some good stuff for myself this morning. I got up and meditated a while... or at least tried to. Today I didn't worry too much about my mind going every direction. I just tried to stay still and see where it went. I will work on settling it down and just being, but for today, this was good. And then I walked for 30 minutes on this bright hot morning. I saw a lot more bluebonnets walking than you would think were still out there. That made it more enjoyable. If I hadn't been "caught" by my chatty neighbor at the end of the walk it would have been a little bit better. I don't mind encountering people on my walk, I just don't want to have to talk to any of them.

I need to call my mother and see how Dad is doing today. He hasn't done too well over the last days... Or I'm getting conflicting reports. Maybe my sister doesn't want me to think it is as bad as it is. She said that he was more coherent yesterday, but mother said that he wasn't and he was having lots of difficulty getting to the bathroom, etc. He might have gone to radiation this morning, but I doubt it. I don't know if it is in the same hospital. If it were, they might have done it, but I bet he just stays in the room and they will wait on more radiation until he is up for it. Mother is also worried that he might be getting pnuemonia (which is my worry, too) because now they are giving him longer breathing treatments and beating on his back like they usually only do when he has pnuemonia.

This was a very social weekend for me and Mark. We who rarely have a meal together, much less with other, shared two meals with friends. Saturday night my friend from Denver and his new wife and another friend from Dallas, a newspaper editor, had dinner with us at the barbeque joint on Fifth. I really wanted to go the Iron Works, but it isn't open on Saturday night. I haven't been there in years. The barbeque we had was good, but I wonder sometime if I am just not Texas enough. Barbeque doesn't usually thrill me. Maybe my standards are just too high.

Mark had to go on to work from there, but I took the others on a driving tour of Austin and then we went to the Spoke for a little while to see Bruce and the band. I was glad to see my friend the drummer there because I had gotten his phone number a few weeks ago from him, but when I tried to call, I got another friend instead. I had mislabeled his number and lost it completely! So I have it now and I should call him for lunch one of these days.

Sunday morning we met up with our best man and his brother who were in town for the day just because Southwest Airlines was tripling their miles or something. I'm sure he had it figured to the penny to find that that was a good deal, but I don't really see how taking a trip you didn't need to take in the first place is going to help you down the line. But then, I don't fly and I hate coupons and rebates and all deals like that. Hate them hate them hate them.

Yesterday afternoon I drug around a little bit trying to accomplish something and could see that THAT was going nowhere so I finally succumbed to an afternoon nap. A long one. After it Mark had to go back up to work AGAIN and I finally got a little bit more active. I mowed the lawns very very short and then I cleaned my office that I've been bitching about for months. Mark came home from work and walked in and said, "What is this? A floor? I didn't know we had one in this room!"

I'm going to go put my new car tag sticker on the windshield before I forget. To have it there on the first day of the month is a big accomplishment for me!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland