Wednesday, May. 11, 2005 7:35 am

Busy times

I am up way early this morning, which I don't mind when I wake up naturally this early. I wish I would do it more often. Maybe I'll get something accomplished at home before I go to breakfast with my friends the acupuncturists.

I had a great lunch yesterday with my Nashville friend. I don't need to give him a name because I don't put much in here about him. I hadn't seen him in a couple of years and it was fun to catch up. Funny how little things that irritate you in person don't bother you in email. I'd forgotten how he does a lot of postitive responses as you are talking, which almost feel like an interruption... "uh-huh, yes, really, of course!" But he's a nice guy and I'm glad I had a chance to see him. We had lost touch for a long time and I'm glad he got back in contact with me.

My voice was in bad shape yesterday. Not my voice so much as it was difficult to talk. I hope today is better. I may cut back on the coffee this morning and see if that helps. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. It will be a busy day of talking.

I'm already thinking ahead to our radio-thon coming up soon and how I will be able to do all the talking involved in that. It is almost nonstop. I hope things have improved a lot by then. I hate to get my hopes up, though. I would have thought I would have been cured long before now. I've passed five months of serious treatment.

I did have my MRI last night. It was not as horrible as some people make it out to be, but it isn't something I want to do again anytime soon. The tube looks a lot bigger from the outside than it does when they start putting you into it. I was in and out three times and it took about an hour total. It is so loud! I had an idea of quiet peacefulness and being able to listen to a CD while they did their work. No such luck. They gave me earplugs and it clanked and rattled and made jackhammer noises over and over and over. I tried to breathe and think pleasant thoughts. I don't want them to find anything awful that is causing my vocal cord dysfunction, but I do hope they find something simple and curable. And fast!

The rest of this week is going to be so busy. Mark is out of town until Saturday, for the most part, and I've got gigs tonight and tomorrow night (with DD, whoo hoo) and all day long Saturday. Since my income has been cut so dramatically, I have taken on a lot more of the paying remotes to plump it back up. This should make the June paycheck a lot better, but it will be a month of hard work, I'm afraid.

I'm mad at myself. My DVR didn't get Idol last night. Dang it! I had too many crap programs still on it and it didn't have room. Totally my fault. I've set it now to dump the oldest stuff to record new stuff.

Oh... and I can't quite get over the news of this Kenny Chesney/Rene Zellweger marriage. What's up with that? My boss came in yesterday and I said I was in shock. He said, "Not you too?" I said, It's just creepy. He said, "Oh, I thought you were heartbroken that Kenny got married." God no! I'm sorry for Rene. That boy just ain't right. I give it 13 months at the max.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland