May 11, 2003 11:41 am

Mother's Day

Happy Mother's Day! I wish I were up there with my Mom today to take her to lunch and enjoy her company. I sent a bouquet of flowers and it arrived Friday. She called. Her computer is out and is in the fix-it shop. I miss her e-mails. She's a great mom. I may be screwed up in many ways, but I can't blame her or Daddy for it (much). I suppose I spent more time with my Mother in my life than I have with anyone. Dad traveled a lot and was out of town for a week at a time so I was home with her and my sister. And my sister moved away when I got into high school so Mother and I were the only ones home for about four years except on the weekends. I cringe when girls say "She's more my friend than my mother" because she is not that, she is my mother, but she is a wonderful listening ear and supporter and still enjoy time with her.

The Willie show Friday night was great. I'm so glad I went. It had been a long day already because I did a remote up on the north end (and ran into two of my cousins there and gave them tickets to Willie, I wonder if they went?). Then I worked through the afternoon, ran and did another remote at a favorite restaurant/music venue with a young artist with a number one Texas song. We had played it early and helped it to get to that spot so he and his entourage were all over me like a favorite mentor, it was uncomfortable. They gave me a framed thank you thing for the station, which was nice. I stayed after I introduced him and heard a few songs and sat with an old buddy that used to work at the station, and then I dashed off to Willie.

The guy that is creeping me out was there and he did bring his wife so that helped matters. I also liked her even more. When I got there the lines to the bars were all crowded so I went on out to the VIP area and found them and his wife said, "She needs a drink, go get her a drink." So she and I got to visit and let him stand in line and buy me some expensive whiskey, I knew he could afford it. When he came back he had beer bottles with him, too, and they wouldn't allow beer bottles out there. The "guards" stopped him and he got very beligerant (sp?) with them and was cussing at them and cussing as he told us what had happened. An incredible temper. I absolutely hate when tempers flare over such inconsequential matters. They left soon after and I was glad.

I never had found my "date" for the night, but I was fine hanging with my boss and his wife and her parents. He and I talked business a lot. I try not to bring up business when we're out like that (although I love to talk about it), but he brought it up so we did. I guess he loves to talk about it, too.

Oh, one thing I did not tell him was that my sometimes obnoxious cohort at work, Cotton, had forgotten a very important detail on Friday afternoon. Somebody had to be at the station while I did my remote Friday evening and he didn't schedule someone. I called him at almost 7 to see who should be there and he realized he had "dropped the ball" and said he'd be there in 15 minutes. I probably wouldn't have ever told the boss, but Cotton was saying "I'll tell him Monday" (meaning Don't YOU tell him). Since it all got handled I would just let it pass, if I were him.

Yesterday was another busy day. Another remote at a cardboard-home folding plant in Buda and then on the air through the afternoon. Came home to watch all of the episodes of 6 Feet Under that Mark had missed.

Today is Sunday and we are going to go out and do some fun things. It will be nice to have my life live up to some of the fantasies I was having about being with Mark just before he came home.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland