March 07, 2002 9:53 pm

Passport troubles

Mark's been suffering with the sinus stuff for a week and I hear him in there hacking and snorting and coughing. I'm feeling mostly fine but still coughing and snorting myself.

We are almost ready to go to Hawaii Sunday although our enthusiasm level remains low. This has been a hard week as we discovered that we aren't flying to Hawaii with the rest of the family. We all fly into Denver at the same time (them from Dallas, us from Austin) but then we are on different flights to get to Honolulu. And to top it off, Mark was the one that was so insistent that he would only go if we were on a direct flight. He reluctantly was going when there would be two flights to get there. Now, we find that our flight has three legs and stops in San Francisco, too! He is not happy one bit.

We also find out this week that we have to have a valid passport for the trip. Mark just got his for the first time since he is going to Europe next month, but mine expired two years ago and I hadn't done a thing about it. We found out on Tuesday night that it had to be valid so Wednesday I took it to some folks here in Austin that make their living acting as your proxy and going to Houston and getting your passport. I had to give them my old passport and my marriage certificate, since my name has changed, and I won't know until tomorrow morning if they succeeded in getting me a new passport. They were confident but couldn't guarantee anything. Our travel agent is going to pay the fees they charged for this rush job since she never let us know we would need the passport to go to HAWAII!! I find out now that in order for a ship to leave from a U.S. port and only go to U.S. ports it has to have been built in the U.S. and have an all U.S. crew. To get around that on this cruise they go to Fanning Island which is in the Kirabuti nation, or something like that.

I'm doing a TV commercial for a new client tomorrow and that excites me. A friend I used to work for recommended me to an ad agency. It first appeared that they would need me next week when I'll be gone but they moved it to tomorrow. Maybe this will lead to more voice work. Hope the nose is clear!

I'm worrying over the radio station commericials I do and send by e-mail. I found out this morning that they haven't been receiving some of my spots and hadn't told me! I wonder if some of the problem is with their ISP and not mine, but if it isn't solved I may lose that income, sadly.

I worked last night at the cafe and had the best/busiest section. It was hopping all night and I made some good money for a Wednesday. The cash will come in handy on the trip.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland