Thursday, Mar. 04, 2004 9:34 am

Rodeo party

Again, I am running late. I set the alarm early this morning, but then kept doing that "but if I don't take a shower I can sleep 15 more minutes... and I could always come back and pack my bag after the hair appointment, so no need to get up extra early for that..." I talked myself into a full extra hour and, now that I am up and awake, I know I need that shower and I know I should at least get started on packing the bag.

I leave tonight after work to run up to Huntsville to speak to students tomorrow. I hope it is a fun day and not a day of smiling and feeling tense and wishing I were anywhere else. I used to speak to kids and all sorts of groups. I don't have a lot of fear of the speaking part anymore, just the unexpected. What if they rise up and stone me because I deceive the world when I record a show for airing later in another city? I would say to them: O, ye, quit stoneth-ing me for what ye laugh and enjoy from Letterman each night!

There was a rodeo kickoff party at the cafe last night. Slightly better than last year because I knew more people (our staff mainly), but still a dull party. Rodeo kickoff--- so what food did they serve? You'd think barbeque or chili or steak, right? COD and BEEF TIPS. How bizarre is that? It's like when the family comes over for Thanksgiving dinner and you realize you only have a pizza in the freezer and there's not going to be turkey.

I did meet an interesting songwriter guy that has emailed me about some things recently. Very intense eyes and handsome. I liked him better in person than in email, but he was doing some work with a guy that strikes me as . . . deceptive? Just a guy I've seen taking photographs over the past year and I don't trust him (not that I need to, I'm just wary).

The sometimes creepy photographer was there with his neice and nephew who were very cute kids. The beer was free (well, two of them) so I enticed SCP into a nice margarita. I'm cheap and willing to use my appeal for liquor. That's an attractive description of me, I'm sure.

My cute guitar player friend almost came to the party. Now that he has moved closer he was asking what was "going on." I gave him the option of coming to this one, but I didn't think he would enjoy it. I'm glad he decided to decline. I looked like crap and have a huge zit on my lower lip/chin.... ick. I will seen him soon enough at the rodeo. I need to ease into this living closer and easier access part of our relationship. It may turn out to be weird.

Okay, now I'm really late and I'm going to get my hair cut this morning. Happy weekend... no update for a few days, I'm sure.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland