Saturday, Mar. 03, 2007 11:07 am

Wild week

What a week. After feeling so crappy over last weekend and improving slightly as the week began, the dental work threw me for a loop and made me hurt like hell all of the last part of the week. Plus, work stress galore. The old man in the morning is in serious trouble and that has my mind in a tizzy.

Thursday was a true day from hell. I get to work to hear about the news of the morning show and to hear that we are having computer difficulties. I'm supposed to meet with an artist at 2 p.m. and then it turns out to just be a manager or someone that is VERY pushy and abrasive. And the artist didn't come at all. What a waste of time. There is a remote scheduled in my show with Cannon and he can be such a prick that I was gearing up for that. I get on the air and his team is having troubles because they are missing equipment they need so we already know we are going to be juggling to get that remote on the air. Then a guest shows up to be on my show that I hadn't expected. I thought he was coming in on Friday. So I'm talking to a guest, juggling phone calls from the team, talking to Cannon to get his breaks on the air with the least amount of explosiveness, my teeth and mouth and neck and head are KILLING me, and the computer is running slow. Thank GOD when that first hour ended. We got the remote going, the interview was over, I could take it down one notch. It got a more easy after the remote was over, except that engineering tells me that the computer glitch has caused some commercials (and maybe other items? We don't know) be replaced with the wrong audio. Oh, great. Another station in the chain ran a commercial but it ended up being 60 seconds of a rock song. So I have to go through EVERY piece of production that is going to run through the next day and see if anything is wrong. Yep, I listened to a second or two of every song, commercial, sweep, voice track. Only found one thing that wasn't right so talked to sales people, looked for production guys, emailed with engineering, and got something else on in its place.

Whew, that evening ended and I got my tracking done. Mark calls and we're going to have company tonight. Normally that might freak me out, but I really like the former bass player that is coming over for a little bit of business and he wants us to meet his fiance. I tell Mark I'll stop for wine if he will vacuum. I stop and get wine and cheese and crackers and fruit and get home just as he does. I hold myself back from vacuuming and he does do it. Hooray. I set up a nice tray and I was glad I did. We ended up eating almost every bit of it. And Mark and I, for sure, hadn't had dinner so we needed it. Especially with all the wine we drank! They brought a big bottle and I had some small bottles, so we had one big and two and a half small among the four of us. THAT is a lot of wine. We talked and talked and we liked the new girlfriend. He and Mark finally got around to their business and she laid down on the couch because she had to get up for a "real" job in the morning. At that point I bailed and went to bed myself...

And, as always when drinking, I woke up at 430 and couldn't get back to sleep. I finally had to move to the couch in frustration with the snoring (come on, let's get that guest room we are talking about). That made Friday a long tiring day, with more job pressure from the work situation, but at least no difficulties on the air. And, with it being Texas Independence Day, lots to talk about there.

I ended up working pretty late last night with tracking and talking to El and checking logs and such. Home late and Mark home even later, but we stayed up and finally caught up on our American Idol obsession.

Today it is bright and windy and chilly. I would like to do some gardening, but may postpone that since it is nippy. Lots to be done in the house, too. I have a long list of things I want to get to, but, as usual, little enthusiasm to DO them, only enthusiasm to HAVE THEM DONE. Taxes are at the top of that long list. Setting up the PC. Letters, cards. Cleaning. TV. More cleaning. Cooking. Eating.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland