Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004 9:01 am

Back to normal a little

I'm up early for another meeting. I should thank my lucky stars I have meetings and a job to go to. Instead, I'm cranky about this and many other details in my life.

One of which is the smell in the bedroom closet. The cats kitty door was locked one day to the garage (my fault) and I think they chose the closet as a nice alternative. Not nice for us. Last night I took out the lower level of clothes and steam cleaned the carpet and hoped it would smell better today. It may be slightly better, but not perfect yet.

I got my birthday present from my husband last night. Yes, I know my birthday was two weeks ago. So does he. It's a music stand with a light. It was suggested as a gift by him, I told him that was a great idea and, yes, I could certainly use it, but he's been busy and finally got it for me. I don't know how I can make it any clearer to him that it is important (to me) to get a gift on my birthday from him.

Yesterday I drove up to the north side to get a driving record for a Dallas friend with a ticket and no time for mail. It was a big favor, but he's gotten jobs and more jobs for me, so I owe him. No trouble getting the record and getting it off to him, so then I ate lunch at the historic Frisco Show on Burnet. That was a neat experience. Not amazing and "let's go back now!" but interesting and something I've wanted to do since we moved here.

On the air I solicited for other cool Austin experiences I need to have and got several great suggestions. I must start doing some of them. I used to do lots of cool Austin-y things on purpose, but life has made me slack off.

In all my driving around yesterday I saw lots of fabulous wildflowers and Banks roses on homes, etc. Gorgeous. This is a perfect time of year. Our mild winter has made things so pretty, including huisache trees, which I had never even been aware of until this year. They are the bright golden blooms on trees that remind me of redbuds, but are bigger. They are in wooded untouched areas mostly. I read that they only bloom every six or seven years because they usually get frozen in the early spring. And they don't grow much north of here is why I'd never seen them before. They are really pretty and I feel like I've learned something.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland