March 31, 2003 1:24 am

Rodeo weekend

I last wrote when I was really getting started on a long long day. Thursday morning I got up at 7 a.m. in San Antonio. We came on home pretty early that day, enjoying bluebonnets along the way on 281 north of San Antonio.

Went on to the office at work and did things there, then went on to the rodeo to do my broadcast there. It wasn't perfect, but they had worked out the horrible problems we had on Monday and at least I was on the air througout it all.

They asked me to introduce Robert Earl Keen that night, which was cool. I was backstage and really met him for the first time. He is very nice, pretty quiet. I wouldn't be surprised if he is an introvert. I heard later that Charlie Robison was also back in REK's bus, but I never saw him. My boss had "instructed me" how he wanted me to do the introduction and he was there to see it along with several others from the station. They all raved about my "performance" which was nice.

I stayed for about half of REK's show. I had to hear "Feels So Good Feeling Good Again"---my anthem. I left about 10:30 and went back to the station. I worked and worked there, doing my San Antonio shows and other tedious things that had to be done despite my exhuastion. Then I left the station, got about six blocks and realized I had left some things undone. So back I went and did that. I got home about 1 a.m. I was very very tired and probably a little snippy with Mark. He was being very sweet and solicitous and I wasn't being bitchy, just tired. Finally he was smart enough to say, "I'm just going to let you be alone for a little bit." I laid down and was asleep so fast I don't even remember it.

Friday was a lot better after some sleep. I had to get up early and go to see a couple of clients in Georgetown, but that was pleasant enough. Talked a little bit at work with my boss about some of my issues and he was helpful and sweet, as usual. Went on out to the rodeo and had a pretty good broadcast even though it was cool and the wind was kicking up. About 5 p.m. our promotions director asked if I could introduce Asleep at the Wheel. I said, no, I really didn't know how long I was going to be out there, but I didn't want that obligation making me nervous and keeping me there. Fine, she would find someone else. I finished my broadcast and went to our barbeque cookoff tent and began partaking of the free beer and barbeque. She asked me again to introduce. I suggested a client of ours that would have done a great job. Great idea, she said, and disappeared again. I did more partaking. About 8:15 she came back and this time was begging me to introduce Asleep at the Wheel. Okay, I said, as long as she didn't mind that I would be slurring my words on stage. This introduction went even better, I thought, since I was VERY relaxed and knew more of what I was doing. The highlight of the night for me was when I introduced myself to the bass player and he said, "Good, I was going to come out to the rodeo just so I could put a face with your voice." He listens to me! That is so freaky. I did the intro and shook Ray Benson's hand and then I stayed for that entire show, it was great. Afterward, I went back to the barbeque cookoff tent and did more partaking.

Then, sadness came when I got home. I came in and asked Mark how his day had been. He said he had had better. He told me that his former roommate, the guy he was living with when we met (and therefore I lived with lots of the time) had died. Choda, we called him, was only 42 and had diabetes and major health issues, but this was totally unexpected. I cried and cried and still can't quite believe that it is true. We had seen him just a few months ago when Mark played at Poor David's Pub in Dallas and he met us there to see Mark perform. He had come down and spent a couple of nights a year or so ago, too. He was an interesting guy, living life on his own terms. In his last conversation with a friend, the friend was admonishing Choda for drinking coffee since he was not supposed to have caffeine. Choda said, "I'd rather die than give up my coffee." And, sadly, he was dead within an hour or two.

Saturday was a brighter day, but my eyes were still swollen. I had two remotes and drove all over this area going to them. It was cold as the dickens and windy. Both businesses were very happy with the remotes, so that was great news. When I was done, I went back to the rodeo. Nothing official to do this time, just go to the barbeque cookoff to show my support. It was so cold there, but we had heaters going in our tent so while we were there it was tolerable. Also at the rodeo was my cute guitar player friend (CGP). I hadn't seen him in a couple of weeks and I've never heard him play, so that was fun to talk and see his band. The band was just a bar cover band, but I think he is a good guitar player. I'm not much of a judge.

Stayed a lot longer than I intended to at the cookoff. Aaron Watson played and I ended up staying for all of his set. He is so good. Finished there and went back to see a little bit more of CGP's band. A drunk listener that I'd met on Friday asked me to dance and then was getting a little weird so I went ahead and left. Long long long cold cold cold walk to my car.

Today has been a day of rest and recuperation. And no beer. Worked tonight getting ahead on my San Antonio station and doing some music things. Also deleted about 500 e-mails. Felt very good to delete all the ones with "Dixie Chicks" as their subject.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland