Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004 9:06 am

Jerry Jeff

Rodeo is over. Let's all have a drink. Or not. I had enough while I was there to last me a while.

Thursday was my last big exciting day at the rodeo. I knew there was a possibility of an interview with Jerry Jeff Walker so I had taken the latest issue of Texas Music magazine with me to read up on him through the afternoon and be ready for the interview at 5 or 6 pm. I put on the headphones at 3 pm and my producer said, "I have his mananger on the line and we'll be ready to go with your interview in 4 minutes." Yikes! How to not look completely inane? I managed and had a very nice interview. Later in the evening his manager told me that I was good because it is rare for Jerry Jeff to actually tell stories and he did with me. The next day I heard my sister station jock complaining about what bad interviews Jerry Jeff and Wynonna were. I think that is good evidence that it isn't the subject, it is the interviewer, because they were both great... IF you asked the right questions (brag brag brag.... let me repeat: This is MY journal).

The afternoon went fine and I had some local artists (including Django) on the show, too. Morning man flaked and wasn't going to to do the intro for the Walkers so I was recruited. I introed Django and then saw Jerry Jeff come up and watch Django. A neat visual of a dad watching his son. I didn't interrupt him there, but later was back in the "green room" and introduced myself. He has a reputation of being hard to deal with, but I thought he was very nice and I have no complaints. I not only got to meet him (and fawn a bit, I'm afraid), but I got to meet Bob Livingston, his bass player for ever. I met the drummer that Mark has talked to and the keys, who I had met before and he remembered, which was nice. Also the guitar player Mitch Watkins. I was so glad I realized before I had left that Mitch Watkins plays with Lyle Lovett and I was able to tell him how much I've enjoyed seeing him play with him.

JJW's show was really great. I hadn't seen him play in years and it was very moving to hear all these songs that were important to me. He is made for oldsters like me, though. Our promotions person was complaining the next day that she didn't recognize anything until he got to Up Against the Wall Redneck Mother.

I was out very late that night because the shows were long and then I stayed to say goodbye to some of the rodeo people I wouldn't be working with again.

Friday I had an early meeting so I was dragging the entire day. So beat. When six o'clock rolled around I was ready to be gone. I did stay and visit with my co-workers some and heard the excitement when one of our sister station's van was stolen! Apparently one of the upright carnies took it off for a joy ride. Eventually it was found minus a lot of equipment and then most of the equipment was returned, but not some big speakers.

I came home Friday just whupped. Mark was in Houston and I spent a long time chatting with CGP. Though I had seen him at the rodeo, we hadn't had a long conversation in a few weeks, so it was nice to have some back and forth.

Yesterday I went to the friends of the library book sale and stocked up on some psyche tomes. Drove to Lakeway by way of 2222 and saw a million bluebonnets and beautiful lake vistas. Really a nice spring drive. The remote was the shakiest of the season yet because of the producer on the board being less than competent, but we made it through.

Mark was in Houston for the weekend but a gig for last night was mistakently booked and they had no gig so he came on home and got in early enough to watch some TV and go to bed.

Today, another remote... a rare Sunday remote, but it is at a plant place so it should be good. I've been there before, too. After that I plan on continuing my weekend gardening that I started yesterday. I'm trying to funnel my energy (what energy there is) into something productive and creative this weekend.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland