Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2004 11:03 am

Texas Independence

Happy Texas Independence Day! This is a holiday that makes me inordinately happy. Like when "your" football team wins. Hooray for us! We're winners! I just sat on the couch eating chili and drinking beer, but I won this football game. Same with Texas Independence... I didn't do a damn thing to achieve it, but I am quite pleased that that small handful of Texans did. I don't believe I had any ancestry involved in the fight for Independence. I do have a lot of ancestry that took advantage of it and got here soon after, while it was still a Republic.

I am already running late this morning. I have an accordion lesson in an hour. I practiced last night and sounded really lame. Maybe we'll just noodle around on Deep in the Heart of Texas and the Eyes of Texas and call it a celebration.

I've been feeling very low and very anxious for a while. Duh. It dawned on me yesterday that I have not had my good Chinese herbs in a while. I let them run out and thought I would be okay. And I was, and am, but little hints of discontent keep sneering at me so today I go back to White Crane and get a re-up on my stock.

I've got to be un-anxious and un-glum when this music series begins again. It will make for a long six months if I am not happy about it. I did find out yesterday I actually get some extra pay for doing it, which makes me very happy. Last year I did it all out of the goodness of my heart (well, and because I had no choice!).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland