March 22, 2003 1:12 am

Journal gaps

Yes, it has been a while, hasn't it? Got together with the Austin journalers tonight at Opal Devine's and had a great happy hour get-together. Great location. Would have been nice if we could have spread out a little more, but we can't have everything. I really enjoy the happy hours. I'm glad, too, that I could get everything done and get away from work at 7 p.m. My co-worker Cotton called just as I got there and sat down. I ignored the cell phone and he didn't leave a message. Hooray.

This week seems to have gone quickly in most respects. There was some extra work to be done because the war broke out. Oh, yeah, I guess occasionally I should include huge world events in my daily diary so I can get some perspective later as I re-read what has happened in my life. Our nation attacked Iraq, big time. I'm all for peace and freedom and liberty and rights, but I'm still iffy about the way this all came about. I'm not going to march down Congress demanding peace, because I can see the need for some of this, but I do pray for peace and hope that things are over quickly. I think Saddam Hussein and his family are pure evil and the people of Iraq will be better off without him, but I am not quite sure that is what the armies of the U.S. were put in place to do.

We have had a fun week playing with the kitties. They are all developing personalities and are so CUTE. The little yellow one is now Willie, the red-headed stranger, and we also have Pinky and Ali and Amazing Grace. There was Lefty, who had one left eye open before the others, but now that all the eyes are open there is no clue which one was Lefty.

Tonight I went with Kitty to Club 21 in Ulhand. I had never been there before. It was a great time seeing the Derailers play. This club is such a great dancehall. I told the owners and folks that ran it that I was never going to talk about it on the air again because I don't want it spoiled with too many people. They asked that I get enough people there so they can pay the light bill.

Speaking of bills, I owed a big one to the insurance company and was wondering where I was going to get the money to pay it, when I looked at my checking account and discovered I was WAY overdrawn. I sometimes don't know how I do that. I don't think any thing had had bounced and gone back to the source, I was just charged fees and was deep in the hole. Thankfully, Mark has been selling a bunch on eBay and he was able to bail me out and to pay the insurance. Of course, now I feel like I owe him money, when really he should have been paying some of the household bills with all that money anyway.

Tomorrow and for the next two weeks I am broadcasting from the rodeo. Some of it may be fun, but I'm afraid it is mostly going to be tedious. Long afternoons there and long days trying to get everything else done, too. I do have two days off next week for our little bluebonnet trip to San Antonio, so that should help break it up and give me a rest.

Lots of concern lately from loved ones, fellow journalers, friends, etc., about my mental state and where things have gone from previous entries. I'm doing good. Chinese herbs and Bach flower essences are keeping me on an even keel. I am currently NOT depressed and that is a turnaround. I hope it lasts, but part of what has me undepressed could lead to great troubles and depression in the future if I let it, so I only want it to help boost things temporarily. Lots of things are being put in the OFF-line journal these days, so forgive the gaps here if you will

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland